Potato & Spinach Theplas & A Chilli Tomato Chutney

image

I woke up this morning and I asked my 2 year old what he wanted for breakfast?
I got an instant answer that just rolled off of his tongue…”Thepla please Mummy!”

I couldn’t resist the sweetness in the reply and I did ask what he had wanted to eat. So I’ve just finished making them and thought I would share my spinach theplas again but with a variation…

I grated a red potato with peel and combined it into the flour as I do with the spinach in my spinach theplas

image

Please note that you may have to use a little less water to bind the dough as the potato releases its own moisture. Otherwise follow my thepla recipe and add a little more seasoning according to taste

This way my little one will be full up for longer and the potato does add to the softness of the thepla

Carrying on the theme of tomatoes from the last post I felt an impullse to make a hot fresh tomato chutney to accompany the theplas. Within fifteen minutes I had a chutney good to go!

image

INGREDIENTS

For the chilli tomato chutney
1 tbsp sunflower oil
½ tsp red chilli flakes
2 tomatoes chopped
2-3 long green chillies
⅓ tsp salt
1 tsp cumin and coriander powder
pinch of turmeric
½ tsp red chilli powder

METHOD

• Heat up the oil in a small saucepan with the chilli flakes, on a low heat let the flakes infuse into the oil for 5 minutes

• Add the rest of the ingredients to the oil, mix well and let the tomatoes and chilli cook in the oil on a low heat for 10 minutes. Stirring occasionally and squashing the tomatoes a little with a fork to tenderise them

• Once the chutney is mushy and the the chilli soft serve it with the potato spinach theplas

image

Even he couldn’t resist pretending to make some thepla! 🙂

image

14 thoughts on “Potato & Spinach Theplas & A Chilli Tomato Chutney

  1. Mmm, these remind me of the parathas we had for breakfast every morning when we were in India last year. I just ate breakfast, but you’ve made me hungry, Dimple!

  2. I was just on another blog talking about chutneys, Dimple. I’ve not made one and fear messing it up. This tomato chutney of yours, though, is calling to me. If I can get some “good” tomatoes at the market Saturday — this is the last for the year — I’d like to give your recipe a try. It sounds delicious. Thanks for sharing.

Leave a Reply

