Choc Coconut ice lollies

image

Even though I have been baking alot I’m still trying to lose a little baby weight! For that reason I have no chocolate or cocoa products in our home, and yesterday I had a major craving!

I saw my 2½ year old playing with some ice lolly moulds and pretending he was eating ice cream. That’s when the bulb in my head lit up! Lol

I now fancied chocolate ice cream and my number one choice of gelato has to be sweet tender creamy coconut, so this is how these lollies were conceived!

image

I’ve made the recipe in proportion to the my ice lolly moulds, which are quite small. If your moulds are larger please adjust accordingly and remember to taste before freezing them to give you the desired sweetness before it is frozen

Once again you can alter the amount of sugar and cocoa if you are making these yummy lollies for your children!

image

INGREDIENTS

300ml milk full fat
50g caster sugar
1½ tbsp cocoa powder
2 tbsp desiccated coconut
1 tbsp cornflour
½ tsp vanilla extract
8g butter
Extra desiccated coconut

METHOD

• In a small saucepan heat the milk, sugar, cornflour and cocoa powder

image

Simmer on a low heat and stir with a whisk until velvety thick. Keep whisking for a couple more minutes

image

image

• The chocolate mix will start to resemble a thick chocolate pudding sauce

• Take off the heat and stir in the butter and vanilla extract

• Transfer over to a heat proof bowl, chill the chocolate mix in the fridge for 10 minutes

• Mix in the 2 tablespoons of desiccated coconut and combine well

image

• Put 1 teaspoon in the bottom of each moulds with a few drops of water, next spoon in the chocolate coconut mix

• Put the sticks in and place the lollies in the freezer for a few hours. Over night is better!

image

image

image

image

A hidden talent!

image

I haven’t yet disclosed my other favourite past time that manages to chill me out and gives me a little me time!

I’ve always have loved having my nails painted. My very first memory of purchasing a dusky pink peel off nail polish from a toy shop still resides very strongly in my mind. The smell of it too! And a very nice memory of the teenage boy who used serve me! Who I thought I was going to marry one day! Lol 😉

image

I can’t believe I found this picture! 🙂

It’s so nice to start off with a blank canvas and by the end you have these amazing jewelled fingers to show off!

image

Ok so when I’m not cooking, baking, cleaning and looking after my children which is nearly always…you’ll find me on the sofa when the boys are napping, eagarly making my hands pretty!

Do come join me next time? And also let me know some of your hidden talents x
Much love D x

Ps ~ I was inspired to share my talent after visiting Bandhna’s beautiful blog

Please check it out…also some excellent food recipes and stunning nail polishes x Thanks for the inspiration!