A Gujarati wedding curry

image

Whenever I go to an Indian wedding I am most likely greeted by this colourful red maroony and yellow speckful curry. I have had it so many times but have never made it at home. Well..the perfect opportunity arose when I realised I wanted to make a kidney bean curry but didn’t have enough beans. So the crunchy sweetcorn kernels came into play!

In a traditional gujarati wedding, ginger and garlic is not used but you know how I love my garlic so I couldn’t resist! Hope you enjoy it! Great with some soft chapattis or naan bread

INGREDIENTS

1 tin of kidney beans in water
1 tin of sweetcorn no salt drained
1 onion pureéd
3 cloves garlic crushed
170g tomato passata
1 tbsp olive oil
¼ tsp of both mustard & cumin seeds
Pinch of asafoetida
⅓ tsp turmeric
1 tsp ground cumin & coriander powder
¾ tsp salt
2 tsp rajma masala
Pinch of sugar
handful of chopped fresh coriander
A little water if required

METHOD

• Heat the oil in a large saucepan with the asafoetida, mustard and cumin seeds. Once they start to pop sauté the onion and garlic until onion becomes translucent

• Stir in the tomato passata and add all the dry spices, salt and sugar.
Mix well and leave to cook on a low heat for a few minutes

• Pour in the kidney beans with it’s water plus the sweetcorn, stir well and simmer on a low heat covered for 10 minutes. Garnish with coriander to serve. I’ve stirred the coriander in to infuse the flavour!

image

