A Bright Quinoa Salad

41bdea63-8203-4bd0-9892-e6920297da90

 

Hello all! It has been a while! I have found my kitchen again in this lock down period and have been creating lots of new recipes for you.

As it is sunny here in the UK, I thought it only fitting to make a colourful and healthy salad to lift our spirits.

Though a difficult time, I have always managed to use and create recipes from the ingredients I have in my home so it hasn’t been so bad apart from the constant… “Mummy!! I am hungry!!” song I seem to hear on a constant basis lol.

This salad is packed with protein and nutrients to help us get through this time.  Very simple, easy and versatile.  Feel free to adapt it in anyway!

INGREDIENTS

1 cup pre boiled quinoa

1 yellow bell pepper charred and diced

10 cherry tomatoes chopped

1 small red onion diced

1/2 cucumber diced

1 tin of sweetcorn drained

Handful of coriander chopped

DRESSING

4 tbsp Olive oil

1/2 the juice of a fresh lemon

salt to taste

1/2 tsp sumac

1/4 tsp onion granules

1/2 tsp garlic granules

METHOD

1, Combine all the prepped veg and quinoa together and mix well in a large bowl.

2, In a smaller bowl, make the dressing with the ingredients above, stir well!

3, Pour the dressing over the salad and intergrate all together.

4, Garnish with fresh coriander and cheese if you wish.  I crumbled Wensleydale cheese over the top and some dried chili flakes.

 

Leave a comment