Fig, walnut & orange muffins

image

To celebrate my 101st post! Yay!!! I thought I would make a new fig muffin recipe. Figs and me never really mixed when I was young, though my Mum has always loved them. I first got introduced to figs by the fig rolls they sell in the supermarket. It was nice to feel the little balls crunch in between my teeth incased in a golden biscuit and then I moved on to the hard stuff the dried figs and then very recently fresh figs!

image

Now I quite enjoy them and it was for this reason that I made them and also to introduce them to my 2 toddlers so that they get a flavour for them from now!
The muffins came up fluffy and sweet! The walnuts and orange zest compliment the figs and taste a little Christmassy! I know it’s early but with these dark nights drawing in, Christmas is something I’m really looking forward to x

INGREDIENTS

150g butter softened
175g self raising flour
150g dried figs chopped
zest of 1 orange
30g walnuts chopped
75g caster sugar
25g soft brown sugar
3 large free range eggs beaten
½ tsp vanilla extract

METHOD

• Preheat oven to 180°c/gas mark 4. Grease a muffin pan of 12 and set aside

• Put all the dry ingredients into a mixing bowl and mix, slowly add the beaten egg and fold through

• Spoon the muffin batter into the muffin pan holes directly

image

Bake for 20-25 minutes until golden brown and a skewer comes out clean

image

• Gently ease out the muffins with a tablespoon and cool on a wiring rack. Then make yourself a cup of tea, grab a muffin and put your feet up! You deserve it x

image

image