Chilli cheese fingers

image

Today’s quick and easy snacky type of lunch consisted of my 2 favourite things! CHILLI & CHEESE!!! You know how much I love cheese from my past recipes but chilli only came into play after I got married and even more after I had my two children.

When I was young I just couldn’t handle any heat, I felt like it would irritate my stomach but now it’s a very different story. I just am addicted to that hit and buzz of heat from the chilli on my tongue and I seriously can’t get enough. Must have been the baby hormones that changed me this much! Lol!

image

So it’s Saturday, I was hoping to get our weekly shop done but decided that I will try and have a food clear out week and make recipes based on what I have. With no fresh vegetables, the cheese, green chilli, dried oregano combination came up adorned in a crispy tortilla wrap.

I know really easy huh? But the trio of flavours worked well alone…no need for tomato either! Leaving the saltiness of the cheddar, the heat of the chilli and an Italian note from the oregano….ummmm bellisimo!

INGREDIENTS

Ready made tortilla wraps
Fresh green chilli sliced finely
Grated cheddar cheese
Dried oregano
Olive oil

METHOD

• Heat a little oil in a non stick frying pan on a low to medium heat, lay down the tortilla and on half of it sprinkle the cheese and oregano

image

• Place as much chilli as you wish, depending upon the heat factor you wish to achieve and then fold

image

• Using a spatula press down. Cook on both sides until golden brown and the cheese has melted and is stringy

image

• Take out the folded wrap and slice into fingers. Great for toddlers without the chilli as a finger food!

image

Enjoy with a dipping sauce of your choice. I went with a tangy Mexican sauce that I love! So Mexican quesedilla with an Italian twist!

image

