Comforting Cocoa For One…

image

I do love chocolate milk and when Shanna @ Curls and Carrots posted her cocoa recipe I started craving it more than ever!

This evening was the best time to sit down with Shanna’s gorgeous mug of cocoa. We had enjoyed a wonderful day at my cousin’s engagement ceremony. Had a very rich and filling lunch which was amazing! But has left me nearly full. So…I decided it was cocoa time! Just to end the day on a sweet cozy note…zzzzz

And yes I made it just for myself! 🙂

INGREDIENTS

1 mug milk
1 tbsp heaped cocoa
1 tbsp caster sugar
Pinch of cinnamon
Tiny drizzle of almond extract

METHOD

• Heat the milk and whisk in the sugar and cocoa

• As the milk begins to warm add the cinnamon and almond extract

• Keep whisking for a few minutes and then pour into your mug. Don’t share you’ve made it only for yourself!

Recipe by Shanna! It is absolutely divine x

Potato & Spinach Theplas & A Chilli Tomato Chutney

image

I woke up this morning and I asked my 2 year old what he wanted for breakfast?
I got an instant answer that just rolled off of his tongue…”Thepla please Mummy!”

I couldn’t resist the sweetness in the reply and I did ask what he had wanted to eat. So I’ve just finished making them and thought I would share my spinach theplas again but with a variation…

I grated a red potato with peel and combined it into the flour as I do with the spinach in my spinach theplas

image

Please note that you may have to use a little less water to bind the dough as the potato releases its own moisture. Otherwise follow my thepla recipe and add a little more seasoning according to taste

This way my little one will be full up for longer and the potato does add to the softness of the thepla

Carrying on the theme of tomatoes from the last post I felt an impullse to make a hot fresh tomato chutney to accompany the theplas. Within fifteen minutes I had a chutney good to go!

image

INGREDIENTS

For the chilli tomato chutney
1 tbsp sunflower oil
½ tsp red chilli flakes
2 tomatoes chopped
2-3 long green chillies
⅓ tsp salt
1 tsp cumin and coriander powder
pinch of turmeric
½ tsp red chilli powder

METHOD

• Heat up the oil in a small saucepan with the chilli flakes, on a low heat let the flakes infuse into the oil for 5 minutes

• Add the rest of the ingredients to the oil, mix well and let the tomatoes and chilli cook in the oil on a low heat for 10 minutes. Stirring occasionally and squashing the tomatoes a little with a fork to tenderise them

• Once the chutney is mushy and the the chilli soft serve it with the potato spinach theplas

image

Even he couldn’t resist pretending to make some thepla! 🙂

image

Tomatoes for me!

image

Tomatoes are now very popular in our house as I know they were when my Mum was pregnant with me. At work all she craved was slices of fresh acidic tomato seasoned with lots of salt and pepper. This kept her going through her pregnancy and then I came along.

Also known to love tomatoes I think this love of tomato inheritance as moved onto another generation! My son adores them and my Mum always treats him to some sweet mini plum tomatoes that he devours and will choose over chocolate or sweets anyday!

image

This recipe I have made throughout my teenage years when I wanted something a little refreshing for breakfast in the mornings. A poached egg accompanies it when I wish to have a richer meal!

If you like tomatoes you will love this! Also extremely healthy compared to fried tomatoes…do let me know what you think! Enjoy…

INGREDIENTS

1 juicy red tomato
1 slice of whole grain bread
Butter
Sprinkling of dried coriander
Salt to taste

METHOD

• Boil the tomato for 7-10 minutes until the skin starts to peel off and tomato is tender

image

• Meanwhile lightly butter a slice of bread and pan fry it on both sides so it is nice and toasty

image

• De-skin the tomato carefully and paste the tomato flesh onto the toast. Season with salt and the dried coriander

image