Comfort in a jacket potato

image

I’ve always loved a good jacket potato! Having been slow baked in the oven, served with butter melting on the soft mushy potato and cheese completing this wonderful dish I adore. I also love adding baked beans to the mix especially when the cheese melts into the beans…oooh I’m in heaven just thinking about it.

My husband got to know early in on our relationship that whenever we went out for a casual lunch I would be avidly looking out for a baked potato place! Just can’t get enough of them.

So in this recipe I thought I would share my ultimate comfort food. I have made the potato more flavoursome by using garlic granules and of course you have to use proper butter! Go on treat yourself! It’s all about the comfort x

image

INGREDIENTS

4 baking potatoes
1 tin baked beans
1 tbsp butter
2 tsp garlic granules
⅓ tsp chilli flakes
Salt to taste
Grated cheddar cheese
Jalapeño (optional)
Sprinkle of dried coriander (optional)

METHOD

• Preheat oven to 190c/375f/gas mark 5. Wash potatoes, prick them and massage a little olive oil into each one. Place directly onto the middle shelf in the oven and cook for 1-1½ hours until potatoes are soft on the inside and the skin is golden and crispy

image

• Slice the baked potatoes in halves and scoop out the potato flesh into a large mixing bowl. Arrange the empty skin shells onto a baking tray

• Add the butter, salt, garlic granules, chilli flakes. Combine well and then stir in the baked beans

• Refill the empty skins with the potato and bean mixture. Top off with some grated cheddar cheese and jalapeño. Place in the oven again at same temp for 10-15
image

minutes until the cheese has crisped up and has turned golden brown

Sprinkle with some dried coriander leaves and serve with a crisp salad or a creamy coleslaw

image

Homemade Tzatziki

image

I tried tzatziki only a few years back and my love of yoghurt allowed me to like it very much! Such a wonderful refreshing taste it makes a wonderful dip or a sauce as an accompaniment.

Initially I used to buy shop bought tzatziki and then ventured in making it at home. Since then I’ve not looked back. It is quicker to make at home than to go to the shops, take it off the shelf, pay for it and bring home!

I served mine as an accompaniment to my Vegetarian quorn kleftiko dish. I also love it as a dip to crudités!

INGREDIENTS

1 cucumber grated
2 small cloves of garlic crushed
6 tbsp natural yoghurt
Squeeze of lemon juice
Salt to taste
Drizzle of olive oil

METHOD

• Place the grated cucumber, garlic in a medium sized bowl and stir in the yoghurt. Combine well

image

image

• Squeeze in a little lemon, season with salt and mix. Drizzle with a little olive oil to finish

image