For All Nando’s & Peri Peri Lovers Out There!

image

Just in time for the World Cup!! Time for burgers, chunky chips, chilli sauce and cold, cold beers!!! Yay!

Nando’s here has become a household name and everyone is crazy for its food. Such spices and tang and succulent meals keep us going back for more. My 3 year old boy is no exception! To the point where he chose to have Nando’s style peri peri chips and burgers for his family birthday party! Though known for it’s grilled chicken, we opted for the veggie bean burgers, soya burgers and most importantly his favourite Spicy Peri-Peri Chips

image

I made my own version of the famous garlic Nando’s hot sauce, that had my younger brother frazzled as how I captured this taste! Which I shall reveal to you all shortly.

image

I wrote down all orders and how all my family members wanted their burger/pitta combination meal including cheese and pineapple which I always add to mine! Tastes soooo good! Even a peri peri mayonnaise was whipped up on request of my brother!

So first the Garlic peri peri sauce

INGREDIENTS

2 tbsp sunflower oil
2 tbsp plain flour
1 tbsp red chilli powder
½ tbsp smoked paprika
½ tsp garlic granules/powder
1-2 tbsp tomato ketchup
¼ tsp dried oregano leaves
⅓ tsp salt
2 cup hot vegetable stock

• In a medium saucepan heat the oil a little and then add the flour, cook and stir on a low heat for 2 minutes

image

• Throw in all the other spices and seasoning and combine well

• Slowly pour in a little hot stock a little at a time, whilst whisking continuously

image

• Once all the stock has been added simmer on a low heat for 10 minutes, stirring occasionally, half way through stir in the tomato ketchup

• The sauce will become a thick consisting whilst it cools down so you may need to thin it out with a little water before serving

Peri-Peri Mayonnaise

INGREDIENTS

2 tbsp light mayonnaise
½ tsp garlic granules
½ tsp smoked paprika
squeeze of lemon juice

image

• Mix all the ingredients together and chill until ready to serve along your burgers and chips

image

image

image

62 thoughts on “For All Nando’s & Peri Peri Lovers Out There!

  1. Oh. My. Looks fabulous – can’t wait to attempt this next week-end – and thank you so much for the follow leading me to your wonderful delights – soooo looking forward to more! 😉

  2. We so love Nando’s, Dimple! But do they have a vegetarian menu as well or you made a vegetarian version of it? Love the fact that you made the hot sauce from scratch. We were lazy enough to get a store bought Nando’s peri peri sauce :p

  3. Wow! We don’t have Nando’s here in Jaipur and now I can make the sauce at home and have it without having to wait and visit Nando’s in Delhi ! Thank you so much for sharing this fabulous recipe with us !
    One thing that I wanted to ask was – For how long can this sauce be stored ?
    Thanks !
    xx
    Anuradha

  4. Just discovered your blog today after you liked one of the recipes on mine and I have to say, my mouth is literally watering while I read your recipes! My kind of food. You’re a genius for creating this recipe! Love it.

  5. Hi, dImple,thanks for visitiing my blog and appreciateing it. I like your hot sauce racipe.and one thing I like about u is that you said cook with love.i used to take cooking classes and I always used to tell my student whenever u cook, cook with love half work is done.

  6. Ooooh!! I am making burgers tonight as my husband, who is not a football fan is watching the World Cup as his country is playing! Will be making your famous chips aaaand now that gorgeous mayo! Thanks for sharing Dimple! xx

  7. Oh my, Dimple, I think you may end up making me a hero in my daughter’s eyes with this post. She is a Nando’s addict, usually choosing the grilled chicken. I’m definitely making this for her on her next visit home! Thanks for sharing

  8. Pingback: “Food”ball Fever | My Simple Delights

  9. Woooow!! Thank you so much for sharing this, Dimple. I’m crazy over Nando’s when I went to Malaysia. Now, I don’t have to dream on how to get them. 😀

Leave a comment