The Veggie Meatball Sub???

image

So what’s up with everyone that eats meat that love “The Meatball Sub”?  Everywhere I look,  especially on US TV channels I see people chomping on these soft baguettes with marinara sauce and cheese oozing out!  And for somebody who doesn’t eat meat, it has left me intrigued for a very long time!…

Having also a major love of the TV show “Friends” growing up, we all know about Joey’s absolute obsession and fascination with food! Especially the meatball sub!!

image

I have made my own vegetarian version but used ready made frozen soya protein balls.  I will however figure a way to make a home made version very soon.  If any of you lovely people have a vegetarian (meat)ball recipe,  please send me the link.  For now I hope you enjoy this as much as we do!

image

Have a super Sunday friends! Much love D x

INGREDIENTS

Large packet of quorn/soya frozen meatballs
2 tbsp olive oil
400-500g crushed tomato passata
1 onion finely chopped
2 garlic cloves minced
1 tomato diced
½ tsp salt or to taste
½ vegetable stock cube
⅓ tsp red chilli powder
¼ tsp sugar
½ tsp garlic granules
½ dried oregano
1 tsp barbecue sauce

image

Fresh baguettes
Slice cheese
Butter

image

METHOD

• Heat up 1 tablespoon of olive oil in a medium saucepan, once it is hot shallow fry off the soya balls upon instruction.  (Mine said to cook for 5 minutes in just a little oil at first then to cook and simmer in a sauce of my choice) once done, set aside

• In a large saucepan heat up another tablespoon of oil and sauté off the onion and garlic.  Throw in the tomatoes cook for a few minutes

• Pour in the tomato passata and add all seasoning and spices plus the bbq sauce  Bring to a gentle simmer, cover and cook for 5 minutes

image

• Carefully place all the meatballs into the marinara sauce, combine well and leave on a low heat, cover again and simmer for 15-20 minutes

image

• Heat up the baguettes, I used ones that had to be baked, slice, butter and place cheese slices on the base of the baguette

image

• Spoon in the veg meatballs and sauce on top of the cheese, so that it melts the cheese and Simply Devour!
image

image

image

34 thoughts on “The Veggie Meatball Sub???

  1. Dimple, your “meatball” sub looks delicious! Dripping sauce, oozing cheese, and that baguette…yum. It looks so good, I think even I [a meat eater] would be fooled and could fall in love with this sandwich 🙂 Hope you have a wonderful day!

  2. I think people love the meatball sub because it is a comforting meal you can hold and eat on the go (might get messy though). It combines carbs, protein and dairy–things people just love. I am not a sub person, more of a meatballs and pasta gal. Your veggie meatball option intrigues me as I am trying to eat less meat. I see veggie balls all the time in the frozen goods aisle so one day I will have to be brave and try it!

Leave a Reply

