Spring Baby Leek & Chilli Risotto

image

A fresh and light risotto ~ the perfect way to celebrate the arrival of Spring time here.  As the pink blossom on the tree adorns us.  Bright yellow flecks of daffodils gracing us with their presence. 

image

I absolutely love this time of year!

image

I happened to stumble upon some gorgeous crisp baby leeks and I just had to cook with them.  It’s the first time I have used baby leeks and what a delicious treat!  A certain sweetness was added to the creaminess of the risotto and the chilli cut through a little of the richness and warms the back of the throat!  I have to admit, that this is now my very favourite risotto recipe I have made.  I hope you enjoy it as much as we do!

Have a happy, fun filled day! Much love D x

INGREDIENTS

4 baby leeks sliced thinly
1 green chilli chopped finely
250g Arborio Rice
1 litre hot vegetable stock
1 tbsp butter
1 tbsp oil

METHOD

• Heat the oil and butter in a large non stick saucepan on a medium heat.  Throw in the leeks and chilli

image

• Sauté for 6-8 minutes.  Add the rice and combine.  Once the leek is softened start pouring a ladle of vegetable stock one at a time, stirring continuously

image

image

• As the rice absorbs the stock keep adding a ladle of stock at a time.  Cooking on a medium heat

image

image

• This process normally can take up to 25-30 minutes.  You may need a little extra stock.  As the risotto becomes creamy and the rice tender and soft, take off the heat and serve immediately

image

image

☆Please wear a daffodil to represent our fight against cancer!☆