Crispy & Roasted Patra

image

“Patra is a popular vegetarian dish in the West region of India. It is known as aluchya vadya in Marathi, patra in Gujarati, and patrode in the Konkan region of India. Its main ingredient is crushed chickpeas, wrapped in the leaf of the taro plant” (Wikipedia)

I fondly remember my Mum sitting down on the floor and preparing the taro leaves to make patra at home. These leaves require a lot of attention so that you get the best out of them. It is then stuffed in a chickpea flour masala and steamed! Then on to curry or frying it!

image

These days we are extremely lucky to get pre cooked patra at its after steamed stage. Available all ready to cook and serve! We rarely deep fry anything in our home so I decided to roast the patra instead. With the onion that caramelize once roasted, a hint of fruitiness of the tomatoes and the heat of the chillies with the spicyness of the patra! What a taste sensation.

Perfect as a starter, just prep and put into the oven. No fussyness just simple food! Hope you enjoy! Much love D x

image

INGREDIENTS

1 ready made patra tin
1 red onion sliced into thin rings
2 tomato sliced into wedges
3 green chillies
1 tbsp sunflower oil
Fresh coriander to garnish

METHOD

• Preheat oven to 220°c. Pour in the oil in a baking dish and arrange the onion, tomato and chillies in the tray. Making sure it gets covered with the oil

• Place the patra slices onto the onion and tomato base and drizzle a little oil on top

image

image

• Roast in the oven for 15-25 minutes or longer until required crispyness. I took mone out at 20 minutes

image

• Serve up on a plate and garnish with fresh coriander

image

image

31 thoughts on “Crispy & Roasted Patra

  1. What a lovely photo of the finished dish! Yesterday I visited a relatively new shop which features all sorts of things from India. I was in heaven!! I’ll have to give this dish a try!!

      • I did – I bought some Pakoda Chutney, some Naan and a few frozen things; Chicken Tikka Masala, Potato and Pea Samosas, & Chicken Biryani. I really enjoyed the Chicken Tikka Masala I ate last night but I didn’t like the Naan – it was too sweet and too heavy. Actually, I’m going to heat up the Chicken Biryani right now! (We were lucky enough to have once visited India – so I know what really good Naan tastes like !!)

  2. Patra rekindles old memories… Your plating is very attractive like a restaurant chef’s style. The colourful veggies do some magic with your artistic touch. Love to eat some patra…should look for some in stores as the preparation is beyond my capacity.

  3. I loved the food in Gujarat, I can’t even imagine recreating some of these flavours at home! Where do you get the ready made patra tin from? I live in London so shouldn’t be too hard to find (hopefully!)

      • Is Ahmedabad in Gujarat? I think that was the name of the city. We loved it there. Then a few small places I no longer remember the names of and NYE on Diu which was an “interesting” experience due to all the drunk young men who’d come over from the mainland! This was NYE 2007/08!

Leave a comment