Lemon & Lime Coconut Cake

image

My love of lemons has now extended to limes too.  Anything citrusy and I am there!  So for the weekend I thought I would bake you all a cake.  I put coconut in it to give it a more tropical feel and the syrup over the top is so lush and tart.  It really compliments and cuts through the richness of this buttery cake.

image

I combined the lemon and lime in the syrup to add a buzz to this recipe and boy did it!  It also became a crispy sugar top glaze as it cooled down.  I loved the end pieces as the syrup really stuck to the edges!  My mouth is watering! Ok! I’d better stop talking and wish you a restful weekend! Much love D x

I’m also joining the party over at my lovely friend Angie’s place @ The Novice Gardener It’s Friday Fiesta time! Come on over! 🙂

image

INGREDIENTS

130g unsalted butter softened
170g granulated sugar
2 large free range eggs
Zest of 1 lemon
½ tsp lemon essence
175g self raising flour
Pinch of salt
50g desiccated coconut
4 tbsp milk

Syrup for cake
4-5 tbsp granulated sugar
Juice of 1 lemon
Juice of 1 lime

METHOD

• Preheat the oven to 180°c, 350°c.  Grease and line a long loaf tin

• In a food processor on large mixing bowl cream the butter and sugar, add the eggs and mix well

• Add the lemon zest plus the essence, fold in the flour, salt and coconut

• Pour out the batter into the tin and bake for 40-45 minutes or until a skewer comes out clean when poked

image

image

• In the meantime, make the syrup by gently heating the lemon and lime juice with the sugar.  Take off the heat as soon as the sugar melts

image

• Once the cake is done.  Make tiny holes along the top and pour over the syrup so that it is absorbed into the cake

image

• Leave the cake to cool in the tin and lastly sprinkle with some desiccated coconut

image

image

image

99 thoughts on “Lemon & Lime Coconut Cake

  1. Wow, looks divine. We have a wonderful French patisserie near us where earlier this week I indulged in a lemon and lime macaroon – I too love that combination! I can just imagine how good your cake tastes. A little bit jealous. I have a busy weekend coming up, but maybe I nevertheless should try and squeeze in an hour of baking…

  2. Pingback: Fiesta Friday #6 | The Novice Gardener

  3. That looks so good!! Light and delicious! I am a huge fan of lemon!! 🙂 Wow!! I can’t stop looking at it!! LOL MMmmmm… Om nom nom…

  4. Pingback: Lemon & orange coconut cake (egg-free) | Mermaid's tresses

  5. Oh my. You are a wicked tart of a woman, and I mean that in a very nice way. This recipe goes on the shopping list for weekend dessert. I only hope I don’t eat it all myself!

  6. Pingback: Lemons and Limes - How Big Is A Face Cord

  7. The lime and coconut combination… I so wanna bake this cake! I didn’t find lemon essence, all I saw was lemon extract. Is it good for the recipe? Can I use more of lemon zest instead?

  8. awesome gorgeous cake and recipe!! the clicks are too good, cake is utterly crumbly, moist and superb textured…well done…should try this soon

  9. Pingback: Sweet Corn and Spinach Curry‏ – Guest Post by Dimple of Shivaay Delights | ãhãram

Leave a comment