A South Indian Coconut Chutney

image

When you go to a South Indian restaurant you will always be greeted with this moist, spicy and refreshing coconut chutney that helps balance out the heat from the other amazing intense flavours.

I have always thought that this particular chutney would be be best served using fresh coconut but my coconut craving took over and I experimented with finely desiccated coconut. To my surprise it did indeed work, it was a great hit with my husband and me. I can’t wait to make it for friends and family now as they can too enjoy this delightful accompaniment!

But for now here’s the recipe! Give it a go! Much love D x

image

INGREDIENTS
For the chutney
1 cup fine desiccated coconut
1 green chilli
⅓ tsp garlic granules
1 tsp grated ginger
Salt to taste
Hot water

INGREDIENTS
For the tempering
2/3 tbsp sunflower oil
½ tsp mustard seeds
⅓ tsp dried chilli flakes

METHOD

• Grind all the chutney ingredients together and pour hot water to aid this process

image

image

You can make the chutney dry using less water or more so that it is runny

• Heat up the oil, mustard seeds and dried flakes in a metal ladle directly on the stove. Once the seeds start to pop, gently pour over the chutney. Please be careful as the mustard seeds will continue to pop

image

• Serve chutney with dhokla or uttapas (South Indian food)

image

image

19 thoughts on “A South Indian Coconut Chutney

  1. According to me, chutney goes really well with anything. The flavour of coconut blends in with almost everything (literally!). I’ve used it as a spread for sandwiches. btw, I’m a south-indian.

  2. I’ve never seen this chutney before, Dimple. Perhaps the restaurants I go to are from a different area of India? I will make a point of looking for it on menus from now on. It certainly does sound delicious!

  3. It looks delicious, I like coconut and I always wonder when I go to the South Indian Restaurant that I wish I can make it. Thank you Dimple for the recipe.

  4. Pingback: Courgette Masala Dosa | Shivaay Delights

Leave a comment