The Optigrill, My New Toy!

image

I am absolutely ecstatic to write about Tefal’s new “Optigrill” I have had it sitting in my kitchen just waiting to be turned on and yesterday was the BIG day! We fancied something Summery but without the hassle of setting up the barbecue, especially with the two boys running around in the garden. Wow what a result and we were treated to instant tasting grilled and charred vegetables and halloumi in a flat bread wrap!

image

The Optigrill is so versatile and self explanatory. It has different modes for various food types and I know I will be using it all the time now that it’s sitting on my kitchen work top just shouting out at me, “I’m here, use me!” Even this morning it made me a chilli cheese toasted sandwich for breakfast yummmmy!

image

You can use a griddle also to cook the vegetables but I found that I hardly used any oil with the Optigrill! So you get extremely tasty food, prepared easily and less oil! Triple bonus in my books!

I hope you enjoy this recipe and also get to sample barbecued food without the barbecue! Have an exciting day and I’ll see you all tomorrow my friends with a fudgy chocolate brownie recipe. Much love D x

image

INGREDIENTS

1 large aubergine, thinly sliced
2 courgettes, thinly sliced
1 large onion halved
2 tomatoes sliced
1 block halloumi cheese (reduced fat)
15/20 button mushrooms
2 garlic cloves minced
Smoked paprika
Salt to taste
1 tsp cumin powder

6 tbsp natural yoghurt
Handful of fresh coriander
Pinch of salt
1/3 tsp garlic granules
Squeeze of lemon juice

Ready made flat breads warmed

Time to grill baby!

Courgettes ~ massage a tiny amount of olive oil into the sliced courgette and place on the grill. I set it on a constant medium heat as my vegetables were thinly sliced. This way I pressed the lid down and was able to check the veg as it cooked

The courgette was cooked within 4 minutes or less. Put aside to cool

image

image

Aubergine~ sprinkle a little salt and add the cumin powder to the sliced aubergine. Massage a little oil also and place onto the Optigrill. Close lid and cook until charred with golden tan grill lines!

Onion ~ Peel segments away and grill for 6 to 8 minutes, until the onion produces a sweet aroma and is softened

Tomatoes ~ place slices onto the grill and don’t close, once charred set aside for the addition of mushrooms

Halloumi cheese ~ cut into thin slices and place directly onto the grill, close the lid and keep on the medium setting. Should be nicely warmed and charred within 3 to 4 minutes. No oil!
How cool!

image

image

image

For the mushrooms ~ warm a teaspoon of olive oil, sauté the grilled tomatoes and garlic. Season with paprika and salt. Throw in the mushrooms, coat them in the sauce, cover and simmer on low for 10 minutes. The mushroom will release its own water adding to the sauce. Set aside to cool

image

image

For the yoghurt dressing ~ place all ingredients into a food processor, give it a good blitz and it’s ready!

Assemble the wrap…if the wrap is large, slice into half. Take two slices of grilled halloumi and then a little of all the grilled vegetables. Drizzle over with the coriander yoghurt dressing and roll it over

image

image

Ready to munch! Enjoy!

33 thoughts on “The Optigrill, My New Toy!

  1. yay..new toy, congratulations 🙂 . I can imagine the rush to make something as soon as you had opened the package 😉 Summer.and this food..it looks yummy 🙂

  2. I’m so sad because I don’t have one of these! 😦
    Dimple, how can I convince the other half that I should be allowed another kitchen gadget?! 😀

  3. I’m not sure I’ve heard of your new gadget? But wow! it sure did the job, and did it well. Nothing like getting anything on the table in just a few eh and healthy to boot! Well done!

  4. Ohhh my gosh. What a delicious looking wrap! Yum… haloumi is one of my very favourite things and I love the fact that the grill creates lovely crispy golden grill marks 🙂 Were you sponsored for this post? If not, Tefal definitely should thank you for the raving review! Lovely recipe Dimple… I cannot wait to try it! x

Leave a comment