Anya potato thins

image

I was at my parents home this week and my Mum had bought a potato variety called Anya. They resemble new potatoes as they are small but a little more elongated. I found them naturally sweeter than your average white potato.

My Dad wanted to fry them but I thought to bake them to be healthy! So he prepped them, I added the ingredients to the potatoes and together we came up with this I must say wonderful recipe for potato thins!

Even to this day he is very adventurous with his cooking style and will adapt or change things to improve what he already knows. I guess my creative streak comes from him and willingness to try different methods of cooking.

Thanks Dad! I had a great time making and cooking this recipe with you. I’m sure we will be doing a lot more cooking together so I can show off your wonderful skills and love of food!

INGREDIENTS

500kg Anya potatoes thinly sliced
4 cloves garlic crushed
1 tsp dried oregano
1 tsp salt
2 tbsp olive oil
A little fresh lemon juice

image

METHOD

• Place the potato slices in a large mixing bowl and add the garlic, oregano, salt, olive oil and a couple of squeezes of lemon juice

image

image

image

• Mix all the ingredients with your hands and then massage the potato slices for a few minutes to infuse the flavours into the potato

image

• Lay out the slices onto two baking trays

image

and roast in a preheated oven at 180°c for 25 minutes

image

Check on the thins and turn them around. Roast again for a further 20 minutes or until they are tender and golden brown

image

Enjoy with some salsa or guacamole

image

9 thoughts on “Anya potato thins

  1. Mmmmm,…a simple, healthy yet divine potato dish,…all beautifully roasted too! Yum Yum Yum! Cooking together with your Dad is great fun, I do that sometimes too when my mom & Dad are visiting me & my husband. X

  2. Cooking with your dad sounds super-cool and the result looks super-yum. I have never tried cooking potatoes like this – gotta try!

Leave a comment