The HEALTHIEST Cake I’ve Ever Baked!!!

image

Two ripe avocados sitting in my fridge staring at me…”We don’t want to be turned into a standard guacomole or just eaten as a salad component…please turn us into something exciting!!!”
Yes your reading correctly, the avocados spoke to me… Lol! 😉

image

No! These were my thoughts that prompted me into doing something very different from what I have done before. I’ve heard and seen people baking with avocados so it was my turn now. Pleasantly surprised at how soft and moist the loaf turned out and how extremely healthy it is apart from the sugar content!

A Fatless, butterless cake wooo hooo!!! Everyone who tried it couldn’t tell the main ingredient and it went down a treat especially with the zingy lemon icing sugar that hits your palette as you take your first bite!

Soooo simple….sooo quick and easy…great for those who crave cake but may have cholesterol issues! My little one said it was very tasty and children do not lie! So give it a go friends…much love D x

image

INGREDIENTS

For the cake
200g self raising flour
150g caster sugar
4 free range eggs
2 ripe avocados

For the topping
juice of half a lemon
4-6 tbsp icing sugar
Handful of flaked almonds

METHOD

• Preheat oven to 180°c/350°f/gas mark 4. Line and grease a loaf tin

• Beat sugar and eggs in an electric mixer for 5-7 minutes on a medium speed. So that the initial ingredients have doubled in volume

• Meanwhile mash and smooth out Avocado flesh into a very silky consistency. Should be similar to a soft butter consistency

• Add the flour and avocado to the egg mixture and mix until combined well

• Transfer the batter into the loaf tin and bake for 35-45 minutes or until a skewer comes out clean. Cool on a wire rack

image

To make the icing ~
• Gradually stir the lemon juice into the icing sugar and beat to get a thick sticky white consistency

• Once the loaf has cooled spread over the lemon icing and sprinkle with the flaked almonds

image

image