Fig, walnut & orange muffins

image

To celebrate my 101st post! Yay!!! I thought I would make a new fig muffin recipe. Figs and me never really mixed when I was young, though my Mum has always loved them. I first got introduced to figs by the fig rolls they sell in the supermarket. It was nice to feel the little balls crunch in between my teeth incased in a golden biscuit and then I moved on to the hard stuff the dried figs and then very recently fresh figs!

image

Now I quite enjoy them and it was for this reason that I made them and also to introduce them to my 2 toddlers so that they get a flavour for them from now!
The muffins came up fluffy and sweet! The walnuts and orange zest compliment the figs and taste a little Christmassy! I know it’s early but with these dark nights drawing in, Christmas is something I’m really looking forward to x

INGREDIENTS

150g butter softened
175g self raising flour
150g dried figs chopped
zest of 1 orange
30g walnuts chopped
75g caster sugar
25g soft brown sugar
3 large free range eggs beaten
½ tsp vanilla extract

METHOD

• Preheat oven to 180°c/gas mark 4. Grease a muffin pan of 12 and set aside

• Put all the dry ingredients into a mixing bowl and mix, slowly add the beaten egg and fold through

• Spoon the muffin batter into the muffin pan holes directly

image

Bake for 20-25 minutes until golden brown and a skewer comes out clean

image

• Gently ease out the muffins with a tablespoon and cool on a wiring rack. Then make yourself a cup of tea, grab a muffin and put your feet up! You deserve it x

image

image

21 thoughts on “Fig, walnut & orange muffins

  1. Congratulations, Dimple. The 2nd hundred posts are much easier than the 1st.
    This is the first I’ve heard of figs in muffins and does that ever sound like a great idea!

  2. Figs are expensive in my place, so I seldom use them. That said, walnuts and oranges are pretty much affordable. I love the muffin, esp the scent of orange. Definitely a must try and lets see what I can replace the figs with.

Leave a comment