Mexican Roasted Veg Pitta Pockets

image

Yesterday I raided my fridge and cupboards and made a quick, easy and healthy supper.  I love roasting vegetables but it is only recently that I have been so very inspired by my dear friend Elaine over @ Foodbod to create dips and pastes, to accompany my our meals

Yesterday I had some lovely aubergines so I thought I would team it up with some tangy cherry tomatoes and a sweet red onion that caramelize whilst it was roasted.  I added a Mexican touch to the vegetable paste using lime, ground coriander & cumin powder.  Whilst most of the yummy flavours came from the amalgamation of the veg

image

So here you have my Mexican Roasted Veg Pitta Pockets, healthy, good and fun!
Have a great day, much love D x

INGREDIENTS

2 medium aubergines chopped into chunks
8 cherry tomatoes
1 red onion chopped
1 tbsp sunflower oil
Salt to taste
1 tsp coriander & cumin powder
Fresh lime to taste

Mexican rice
Wholegrain pitta bread
Grated Cheddar cheese

image

METHOD

• Preheat oven to 200°c.  Pour a the oil into a roasting tray add all aubergine, tomato and red onion

• Sprinkle on some salt and the coriander & cumin powder.  Using your hands massage the oil and seasoning into the veg

• Roast for 25-35 minutes or until soft and squishy

image

• Place all the roasted vegetables into a blender with a squeeze of fresh lime juice and whizz to a semi paste

image

• Toast the pitta bread, slice into half and fill with some Mexican rice

image

Then place some aubergine paste.  Finally scatter a little cheese..all good to go!

image

image