My first caramel sauce!

image

I was extremely inspired by John from the Bartolini kitchens when he recently baked and posted his Aunt Mary’s apple cake recipe. I had some apples and wanted to bake something sweet and appleee for a while now and this was the perfect recipe

image

I adapted it and left out the raisins as I’m not a raisin fan and replaced the walnuts with flaked almonds as a crispy topping. The main component of this dish was the caramel sauce but hands down to John! your caramel looks stunning. Mine came out a lighter colour, I was afraid that I would burn it on my first attempt. Next time I will caramelise it more!

This cake has no butter in it but oil, so I thought I could get away with having a little caramel sauce with it. In which I cut down the fat content by replacing cream with milk. The caramel came out well but I did make less on purpose and thought I could make more when needed…and I think we will be needing more soon!

image

INGREDIENTS

3 large apples cored and thinly sliced
3 eggs
400g plain flour
Pinch of salt
120g caster sugar
2 tsp baking powder
¾ cup sunflower oil
2 tbsp milk
1 tsp cinnamon powder
Toasted flaked almonds

METHOD

• Preheat oven to 180°c/350°f/gas mark 4. Line and grease a deep baking dish

• Mix all the ingredients together except for the apple, beat and combine well. Batter will be stiff

• Fold in the apples and pour out the batter into the baking dish. Liberally scatter the flaked almonds on top and bake for 35-45 minutes until golden brown and a skewer comes out clean when inserted

image

• Slice into squares and leave to cool in the dish

Meanwhile to make the light caramel sauce
You will need ~
50g light brown sugar
150g butter
40g caster sugar
60 ml milk

• Melt the sugar and butter on a low heat, wait for the sugar to dissolve

image

image

• Then pour in the milk, still on a low heat, stirring continuously until the sauce starts to thicken and bubble

image

Take off the heat, ready for the cake!

Drench the cake in this sweet sweet sauce and devour warm! Enjoy D x

image

image

28 thoughts on “My first caramel sauce!

  1. Thank you, too, for your kind words, Dimple. I am so glad you tired and enjoyed both the cake and caramel sauce. Aunt Mary’s cake is good as it is but that caramel sauce really does take it to another level — and I think yours is fine just the way it is. 🙂

  2. Pingback: Quick Cinnamon Sugared Pretzel Bites | Shivaay Delights

Leave a comment