A Cannelinni Bean & Soya Mince Kheema

image

When I first had soya mince at a young age I really questioned in my mind if what I was eating was actually vegetarian. It looked so similar to mince that I didn’t like the texture! As my palette matured over the years, I have very much come to loving it. I use it a lot, as a good source of protein!

I thought to team it up with some beans to make it even more healthier. The end result was a great seasoned and spiced curry which made me feel good after I had eaten it!

INGREDIENTS

300g frozen soya mince
1 tin cannellini beans drained and rinsed
1 medium white onion finely chopped
½ tsp grated ginger
2 garlic cloves crushed
1 cup water
100-150g tomato passata
1 tbsp sunflower oil
¼ tsp mustard seeds
2 cloves
¼ tsp dried chilli flakes
Pinch of asafoetida
¼ tsp turmeric powder
½ tsp ground cumin & coriander powder
½ tsp salt or to taste
1 tsp tavafry masala/garam masala

METHOD

• Heat the oil in a medium saucepan, sauté the onion, garlic and ginger along with the mustard seeds, chilli flakes and asafoetida

image

• Add a little water and throw in the dry spices, stir well and lower the heat

image

image

• Pour in the passata with salt and cook on a low simmer for 7-8 minutes

image

• Carefully add the soya mince along with a cup of water and combine well with the masala sauce. Cover and simmer for a further 10 minutes

• Drop in the beans and mix, simmer for a further 10 mins on a low heat

image

• Finish off garnishing with freshly chopped coriander. Serve with some chapati, rice or both! Enjoy x

image

23 thoughts on “A Cannelinni Bean & Soya Mince Kheema

  1. You know, I never ever used soya mince. I never thought it could taste like anything. But with thes spices – and the genious idea of adding beans – sounds so lovely I just have to try it!

  2. Thanks for posting this recipe. I made bhindi masala with cumin seed pilaf last night for my in-laws. At the last minute I realized that I hadn’t bought quite enough okra and should probably add another dish to make it go around. I remembered your timely post and decided to try out your soya mince recipe as well. My husband and father-in-law (who are both vegan) loved it and even my four-year-old was crazy about it! 🙂 And it was easy to prepare alongside everything else. Thanks! 🙂

  3. Thank you so much, Dimple! That is so nice. 🙂 Ever since I started following your blog I have been planning to make something you have posted – your recipes sound incredible.
    I didn’t think my son would like it as he can be sensitive to spicy foods, but it wasn’t too spicy when mixed with brown rice. He devoured a massive bowl of it, and polished off the leftovers yesterday.
    Thanks again, and have a great day!

Leave a Reply

