Chilli & lime water

image

Chilli and lime work really well together in all sorts of different cuisines. Lime and salt add to a hit of tequila! And I really fancied something different to drink. I stayed away from the alcohol and wanted pure natural paramount flavour with an edge.

My husband was slicing up lime wedges for his bottle of Mexican beer and I thought a lime drink was the way to go. I wanted something salty more than sweet and my taste buds severely craved a new sensation.

image

I then see, sitting on my glass chopping board ~ chopped thin slices of green chilli that I was using in my Calzone that was being made at the time. I put the ingredients together and hoped that something special would come of it!

It so did! and was an extreme delight that I am now here sharing this drink with you. The lime and saltiness hits your palette first, the sweetness from the sugar kicks in and then a slight hint of chilli lingers on the tongue. Really refreshing and really unique! Enjoy!

image

INGREDIENTS

½ juice of a fresh lime
2-3 finely sliced green chilli
½ tsp icing sugar
Pinch of salt
200-250ml of cold water
Lime segments to garnish

METHOD

• Squeeze the juice of half a lemon into a glass, add the chilli and release chilli oils using a spoon against the glass

• Stir in the icing sugar and salt and then pour in the cold water

• Dunk the lime segments in and also squash them a little using a spoon

• Leave aside for a few minutes for all the components to fuse together. It is then ready to be served

image

23 thoughts on “Chilli & lime water

Leave a Reply

