Carrot & Aubergine Pasta Sauce

image

Even I got fooled this time!!! So you all know that I sneak all types of vegetables into my recipes. That way my boys gobble it up! Well, I ate a whole plate of yummy pasta that my husband had made and it was only until the next day, when I helped myself to some of the leftovers that I realised I had eaten carrots in the penne!

I couldn’t believe it! The carrot really absorbed all the pasta sauce flavour and I loved it. I would never have thought to add carrot as an actual accompanying vegetable to the aubergine. I know it works well in mirepoix in the sauce but it worked so well this way too! so I thought I would share my husband’s recipe with all of you my lovely friends!

Have a happy, happy Monday! Much love D x

image

This was our lunch yesterday! Baked Camembert with Garlic and Fresh Baguette! I want more!

INGREDIENTS

1 medium aubergine diced finely
1 carrot diced finely
1 onion chopped
3 garlic cloves minced
⅓ tsp salt or to taste
1 tsp dried oregano
200-250g tomato passata
1 tbsp virgin olive oil

METHOD

• Heat up the oil in a large saucepan, add in the onion and garlic, cook until onion is slightly golden brown

• Throw in the aubergine, oregano and salt. Mix well and cook on a low to medium heat to tenderize the aubergine. You may need to use a little water at this stage

• Once aubergine is soft, pour in the passata, stir and cover. Simmer on low for a further 15-20 minutes

• Serve the sauce with some fresh penne sprinkle with some grated Parmesan

image

image

27 thoughts on “Carrot & Aubergine Pasta Sauce

  1. That sauce looks terrific! I use carrots in a meatless sauce, too, Dimple. I chop them finely in the food processor before adding them to the pot. They add sweetness to the sauce without overpowering the other flavors.

Leave a comment