Finally Sat Down & Had Cake!

image

I have been looking for this café in the park for so long but today, together with my best friend we found it! 
As the sun came out,  we decided to meet up and take our little ones to the park.  Then after quite a bit of running around after them on the slide and swings we needed caffeine!

I opted for a mocha and a decadent piece of chocolate cake that I happened to have seen a little girl devouring in the café as we entered!  Perfect choice!  So soft and tasty… light and fluffy! It was just falling off of my fork. Just the right amount of chocolate in each layer.  Ummmm bliss!

I had to share this with you all my friends as firstly we found the café in the park!  and most importantly, I don’t remember the last time I actually got to sit down with wonderful company!  a soothing cup of coffee and a piece of chocolate cake all to myself! And not made by me!  What a treat! 🙂

Cherry Tomato & Onion Poha

image

A light lunch, so quick and easy to prepare.  Something a little different from your normal Indian rice dish.  The poha ~ flaked rice is less heavier when eaten.  Traditionally made with potatoes for breakfast in India or a snack, I cut out the extra carbs and added my favourite, the succulent cherry tomato.

image

Along with the onion and the spices, the tomato places a sweetness to go with the saltiness from the seasoning and sour notes from the lemon.  I’ve run out of flaked rice now , I better go out and buy some more!

Have a delightful day, much love D x

INGREDIENTS

2 cups flaked rice rinsed
10-12 cherry tomatoes halved
1 white onion diced
2 tbsp sunflower oil
½ tsp mustard seeds
Pinch of asafoetida
2 cloves
¼ tsp red chilli flakes
⅓ tsp salt or to taste
⅓ tsp turmeric powder
1 heaped tsp coriander & cumin powder
1 tsp garam masala
Lemon juice

METHOD

• Heat the oil in a medium non stick saucepan, with the mustard seeds, cloves, chilli flakes and asafoetida, on a medium heat

• Once the seeds start to sizzle and pop, carefully add the onion and sauté until translucent

• Throw in the tomatoes plus all seasoning and spices.  Mix well and cook on a slow to medium heat for 5-8 minutes.  Stirring occasionally

image

• Next scatter in the flakes of rice and fold gently into the onion and tomato.  The oil with the spices will turn the flakes yellow.  Combine so that all the rice is covered and becomes all yellow, squeeze in a little lemon juice to taste

image

• Reduce to a slow heat and cover, cook for 10-15 minutes. 

• Serve with a heaped tablespoon of fresh natural yoghurt

image