Ice cream Bhapa Doi

image

Aahaaram is one of my absolute favourite food blogs. My wonderful friend Aruna is the talented chef behind this vegetarian marvel. I was extremely ecstatic when she offered to do a guest post for me. I look up to her as a senior food writer and sister. She inspires me with every one of her recipes and I am always learning from her.

Thanks Aruna for Aahaaram…We love you!

Over to my dear friend Aruna Panangipally for a sweet ice cold delight…

It my greatest pleasure that I am able to do this super simple yet super delicious guest post for Dimple. Dimple was one of my earliest blogging friends and one with a 1000-watt smile that can light up the whole world. I love Dimple’s recipes because they are infused with same joie de vivre, and are so simple yet so flavourful. 

Dimple always had nothing but kind and encouraging words for me. When I asked her to do a guest post for me, she agreed readily and came up with this delicious Sweet Corn and Spinach Curry‏ and I have only just got around to doing this post for her.

Of the choices I gave her, Dimple chose Bhapa Doi, a dessert that looks deceptively plain but is chockablock of tastes. This Bengali dessert is nothing but Sweet Steamed Yogurt that is oh-so-creamy and just the right kind of sweet; not overpowering yet has a lovely lingering after taste. 

What I love best is the fact that it gets done super fast (though one has to wait for it to chill, sigh!) and is simply super delicious.

Truth be told, I am loathe to share Bhapa Doi with anyone. 🙂

So without much ado, here you go:

Serves: 4 (If you want to share :-))
Cooking Time: 30 Mins
Chilling Time: 4 hours
Ingredients
Sweetened Condensed Milk – 400 gms
Thick Yogurt – 250 ml
Milk – 250 ml
Method
Blend together the condensed milk, yogurt, and milk.
Pour into a steel vessel.
Cover well with a foil or a heavy lid. Anything that will prevent water from entering the vessel.
Steam in a pressure cooker without the weight for 15 minutes. 
Let the cooker cool completely to room temperature.
Chill the Bhapa Doi for 3 to 4 hours.
Enjoy!

image

24 thoughts on “Ice cream Bhapa Doi

  1. Pingback: Bhapa Doi – Steamed Sweet Yogurt – Guest Post for Dimple of Shivaay Delights | ãhãram

Leave a comment