OMG! Lemon drizzle cake

image

I made this lemon drizzle cake following one of Nigella Lawson’s recipes.  Only after devouring it I wish this recipe was mine.  But it is way too good not to share.  I was also lucky to get feedback on how it had turned out by my fellow mummies and daddies at my baby’s music class where I took some to sample! All I can say is that I went into the class room with a whole cake and I came out with nothing but crumbs in my cake tin!  So I guess it was alright lol!

These ingredients are so already sitting in your fridge, pantry, cupboard! please I urge you to reach out for them now and bake this superb cake! Hope you are all enjoying the weekend!   Also I was inspired to write about this particular cake by my teenage cousin who this morning baked a lemon drizzle cake for his family.  I hope my sons will love baking too and I will get treated like that in the future!

INGREDIENTS

125g unsalted butter
175g caster sugar
2 large eggs
zest of 1 lemon
175g self raising flour
pinch of salt
4 tbsp milk
23x13x7cm loaf tin buttered and lined

For the syrup
juice of 1 ½ lemons
100 g icing sugar

For the glaze
juice of ½ a lemon
150g icing sugar

METHOD

1. Preheat your oven to 180ºc/ 350ºf/gas mark 4. Butter and line your loaf tin.
Cream together butter, sugar, eggs and lemon zest, beating them in well. Slowly fold in the flour and the salt, mixing thoroughly and then add the milk. Spoon the batter into your prepared tin and bake for 45 mins or until a skewer comes out clean

2. To make the syrup ~ Put the lemon juice and icing sugar into a small saucepan and heat gently until the sugar dissolves completely

3. As soon as the cake is out of the oven, puncture the cake all over with a skewer and pour over the syrup, this way the syrup will seep into the cake. Leave the cake to cool completely before removing it from the tin

4. To make the glaze ~ Combine the lemon juice and icing sugar until it is a smooth white paste, add a little more icing sugar if needed. Make sure your cake is completely cool before drizzling with the glaze

Recipe taken from “The extraordinary art of cake”

Masala scrambled eggs

image

I woke up this morning and really fancied some eggs and in some ways because I am soo Indian I decided to “Masalafy” them. Add to that onion, tomato, coriander and not forgetting the chilli. (I can’t get enough of chilli at the moment!)
plus seasoning and you have a spicy scrambled egg dish, laced with more flavour than you can get in the morning! What a great way to start the day! I’m ready bring it on!

INGREDIENTS

2 large eggs beaten lightly
1 tomato chopped
1/2 small onion chopped
Handful of chopped fresh coriander
Green chilli chopped to taste
1/2 tbsp mild olive oil
1 tsp butter
1/4 tsp paprika
Pinch of garam masala
1/2 tsp ground coriander and cumin powder
Salt to taste

METHOD

1. Heat the oil and butter in a non stick frying pan. Sprinkle in the paprika on a low flame and mix in the onions and sauté for a couple of minutes until soft

image

2. Throw in the tomato and chilli plus all seasoning and dry spices, combine well and add the fresh coriander

image
image

3. Pour in the beaten eggs, keep the pan on a low flame and stir fry to get scrambled egg consistency. The tomato will release its juice so you may need to take the heat up a little to help evaporate the juice, taste the salt at this stage and add more if needed

image
image

4. Serve on two pieces of warm toast with lashings of butter and now devour!

image