A Marble Cake

image

I had not intended to put this marble cake up as a blog post and that’s why I have not taken proper pictures. I was just experimenting with the recipe but it turned out fluffy and it had risen well. I had put a picture of the cake up on my facebook page as soon as it came out of the oven and everyone asked for the recipe so here it is friends.

I’ll be baking an Easter Russian Cake, yes I know it’s not Easter but the flavours are so very festive and Christmas is only 119 sleeps away! 😉

INGREDIENTS

175g self raising flour
1 tsp baking powder
150g white sugar
3 eggs
120g butter/low fat butter spread
25g cocoa powder

image

METHOD

Preheat the oven to 180°c and line a cake tin with grease proof paper

Place all the ingredients, except for the cocoa into a large mixing bowl or food processor. Beat until all combined and fluffy for a few minutes

Pour half of the batter mixture into the tin and add the cocoa to the rest in the mixing bowl, mix well

Pour the remaining cocoa mixture into the tin and using a fork swirl into the vanilla batter

Place in the oven and bake for 35 to 40 minutes, leave to cool and then grab yourself a cup of coffee and devour

image

image