Creamy White Enchiladas

image

My first memory of going to a Mexican restaurant is with my Uncle and Aunts. I was astounded by all the colourful paraphernalia and the mexican music beat that kept my feet tapping. It’s amazing to recall this time from the depths of my memory! I can close my eyes and I’m sitting right there on a large rustic wooden table with my family and clasped in my hand my very first sweet strawberry daquiri mocktail!

My tongue was greeted with the most sensational flavours I have ever tasted and I found myself hooked on this new cuisine! From that time on I made Mexican at home and still love to experiment with different components to give my Mexican recipes a different edge.

My Husband fancied Mexican recently and I felt the urge to mix things up a bit. We’ve all had enchiladas with a fiery tomato sauce. But I wanted something more creamy to add to the rich bean filling that was sauteéd in fresh coriander!

image

So came to mind a white sauce with spring onion that would smother the tortillas filled to the the brim with the spicy tomato bean filling. Not forgetting the cheese that always makes the dish! I hope you enjoy these as much a we did! Much love D x

INGREDIENTS

For the enchilada filling
2 spring onions finely chopped
2 cloves garlic crushed
1 tin of refried beans
100ml crushed tomato
1 tbsp olive oil
Handful of chopped fresh coriander
¼ tsp dried red chilli flakes
¼ tsp cumin seeds
¼ tsp paprika
1 tsp cumin and coriander powder

For the white sauce
1 tbsp butter
⅓ tbsp olive oil
1 heaped tbsp plain flour
2 spring onions chopped finely
1½ cups of milk

Pre prepared large tortillas
Grated Cheddar cheese

image

METHOD

For the bean filling ~

• Heat the olive oil in a non stick saucepan with the chilli flakes and cumin seeds. once the oil is hot and sizzling add the chopped spring onions and garlic plus half of the coriander and stir briskly

image

• Once the onion has become soft and translucent pour in the tomato passata.
Add in the seasoning of cumin powder and paprika and mix well. Simmer for a few minutes

• Stir in the refried beans with half a cup of water to loosen the mixture. Sprinkle in the rest of the coriander and simmer for a further 5 minutes. Take off the heat and leave aside

For the white sauce ~

• Heat the butter and olive oil mix in the flour on a low heat keep stirring the roux until it bubbles a little. Combine the spring onion with the roux and cook off for a couple of minutes

image

image

• Gently pour the milk into the pan and whisk continuously until the sauce starts to thicken

image

Once the sauce is glossy and thickened take off the heat and leave aside

image

To assemble the enchiladas ~

• Spread the bean filling as a strip in the middle of the tortilla

image

• Fold one edge over from the side

image

• Then make another fold from the bottom to seal in the filling

image

• Next roll into a wrapped tortilla

image

• Repeat for approximately 6 tortillas and line them up in a deep oven dish

image

• Smother the wrapped tortillas in the white sauce and sprinkle cheddar cheese on top

image

image

Place in the oven for 15 minutes at 180°c/350°f/gas mark 4 and then place under the grill to make the cheese nice and golden

image

Serve with some spicy potato wedges and a tomato salsa

image

image

image