Courgette with a kick

image

My first memory of ever eating or even seeing a courgette was to shallow fry it when I was 11. It was one of the very first things after chopping an onion we were taught to do at school. I was let loose and used the cooker for the very first time. I can remember the oil having seeped into the courgette slices when being cooked but that first taste still lingers on my palette. I was so excited that I wrapped some up in a paper towel and took some home for my family to try. After that my whole family got hooked on courgettes especially my Dad, who loves to stir fry them and masalafy them! So I thought that to enhance the wonderful taste I would give the fried courgette a bit of a kick.

Even my one year old was chomping away on these courgettes. The saltiness and sourness hits first and then as you swallow the garlic and heat of the chilli flakes warms the back of your throat. Just an extremely easy way to dress the courgette up for a change in flavour from the norm!

image

INGREDIENTS

1 large courgette sliced
2 cloves garlic crushed
1 tbsp olive oil
½ tsp chilli flakes
squeeze of lemon
Salt to taste

METHOD

• Heat oil in a frying pan, throw in the crushed garlic and courgette keep on a low to medium flame and stir fry

image

image

• Fry off the courgettes on one side and turn round to brown off, sprinkle in the chilli flakes and salt. Finally squeeze in a little lemon juice. Mix well and serve as a side to any meal

image

4 thoughts on “Courgette with a kick

Leave a Reply

