Anussha’s Mint Masala Chai

image

I went to my good friend Anussha’s home recently where the children had a play date and we had a brunch date. She fancied having omelettes and had all the ingredients ready. It was lovely to cook for her and the children

image

We all had some brunch which was great but what was even better was the cup of tea she had made that was waiting for me after I finished in the kitchen.

Oh my god! I know you can have mint tea but to combine Indian masala chai/tea with fresh mint! Was really something! My taste buds were refreshed and my thirst quenched. I told her as soon as I had taken a sip that I would be blogging this recipe on her behalf.

What made this tea even more special was that Anussha had just picked the fresh mint from her very own garden. Which she had gently cultivated from a mint cutting from South Africa. So this tea was now a blend of flavours from India, South Africa and the fertile soil of the UK. Really a stunning trio!

So here’s to you my friend, we had an awesome time with you all and the tea! Well ~ please all go make a cup and see for yourselves. You’ll never have Indian chai without mint again! Thank you Anussha for sharing love you xxxx

INGREDIENTS

To make 2 cups of tea

4-5 fresh mint leaves
1 cup water
2 1/2 tsp sugar
2 tsp tea leaves
1 cup milk
1/4 tsp chai masala
A little fresh grated ginger

METHOD

1. Boil the cup of water with the mint leaves and add sugar, stir to infuse flavours.

2. Lower heat and throw in the tea leaves, chai masala and bring to a boil

3. Pour in the milk and bring to a boil again, let the tea simmer for 5-7 minutes and top off with a some finely grated ginger

4. Strain the tea. If you want a more potent mint effect add some more mint leaves to your cup of tea and let the mint oils do its thing!

image