Cavolo Nero Cheese Muffins

image

Iron, Iron, Iron! My Mum seeked out some Cavolo Nero Cabbage for me and I was and am extremely grateful and pleased! Having never tried this type of black leaf Kale which is found in Tuscany, Italy, I really couldn’t wait to cook with it. Especially as Tuscany is one place that I want to travel to and see!

image

I tried it raw and it didn’t have an overwheming strong taste, so I took a chance and wrote up a savoury muffin recipe alongside some sweet cherry tomatoes and strong mature cheddar cheese. Both my husband and I were taken a back! All these ingredients especially the cavolo nero gave us a completely new tasting muffin sensation. I know this particular bake will become very much a regular in our household, especially as our home was filled by such a scrumptious aroma whilst they were being baked. Enjoy! Much love D x

image

INGREDIENTS

225g self raising flour
6 cavolo single leaves, remove stem and chop into strips
14 cherry tomatoes quartered
100g mature cheddar cheese
180ml milk
1 free range egg
50ml olive oil
1 tsp salt
½ tsp dried oregano
½ tsp smoked paprika

METHOD

• Preheat oven to 200°c/400°f. Grease a 12 hole muffin pan with some olive oil

• In a large mixing bowl, combine all the dry ingredients apart from the cheese

• Whisk the egg into the milk and pour into the dry ingredients along with the oil. Stir well to bring together

• Fold in the cavolo nero, cherry tomatoes and cheese

image

• Spoon up to half of the mixture in each muffin hole

image

image

• Bake for 20-25 minutes until golden brown

image

image

image

71 thoughts on “Cavolo Nero Cheese Muffins

  1. Pingback: Riso integrale con cavolo viola | La Caccavella

  2. Oh Dimple… As soon as I saw that ingredient I had to leave my comment. Tuscany (Florence) is my region, I moved to Canada just 2 years ago… Cavolo nero is something that in Tuscany we cannot live without. I hope that you can visit Tuscany as soon as possible! Your muffins are really interesting, the strong taste of cavolo nero with other ingredients match perfectly…. I imagine that the taste of melted cheddar with cavolo nero has to be really yummy!

  3. Love the idea of all these savory tastes in a muffin– perfect with a pot of winter soup. But I’ve never heard of cavolo nero– think I could use spinach or chard? Beautiful with all that texture too…

Leave a Reply

