Fresh Linguine In A Leek & White Cheese Sauce

image

As you might be able to tell, I’ve started to love my leeks..I just can’t seem to get enough of them. So here I share a recipe that I made for lunch yesterday whilst my husband made this too, to accompany my dish.

image

What is even more special, is that I have been told by friends that they have a lot of leeks to use up…so I really hope you all enjoy this pasta dish, laced with the subtle taste of sweet leeks and a hint of cheddar cheese coming through!

Have a peaceful and stunning day…Enjoy! Much love D x

image

INGREDIENTS

2 leeks finely sliced
⅓ tsp dried oregano
1 tbsp olive oil
½ cup milk
½ tbsp butter
½ tbsp plain flour
Salt to taste
Handful of grated mature cheddar cheese

Pre cooked fresh linguine 150-200g

image

METHOD

● In a medium saucepan heat the oil and butter on a low heat. Add the leeks and stir till slightly soft and translucent

image

image

● Mix in the flour and combine well, cook for 2 to 3 minutes

image

● Gradually stir in the milk and keep stirring until it gets slightly thicker

image

● Season with salt and throwing in the cheddar cheese. Stir so that the cheese melts and becomes one with the sauce

image

● Sit the linguine on top of the sauce whilst still in the saucepan. Combine into the sauce and you are ready to serve

image

image

image

image