Fiery Ginger Chickpeas

image

Healthy, filling and tasty! What more do we want? I normally prefer the white chickpea but recently have taken to the dark brown variety. My husband loves them, so they were perfect to make as a side to the lentil dal and rice I had made yesterday for dinner. I had to spice them up obviously! As I do! But this time the real warmth and heat comes from the ginger. It adds an edge to them and makes them so moreish!

Give them a go friends and let me know what you think…Have a fantastic day, see you soon, much love D x

INGREDIENTS

1 tin dark brown chickpeas
1 tsp sunflower oil
1/2 tsp cumin seeds
1/2 tsp finely grated ginger
1/2 tsp piri piri mix or smoked paprika
1 tsp ground coriander powder
Salt to taste
1/2 cup tomato passata
Pinch of dark brown sugar

METHOD

In a small saucepan, heat the oil in a medium heat with the cumin seeds, piri piri or paprika, stir in the ginger along with the tomato passata

image

image

Season with the salt and coriander powder, set to a low heat and simmer for 10 minutes

image

image

Garnish with some fresh coriander and serve with chapati or naan bread

image