Sautéed Vegetables Transformed = 2 Vegetarian Dishes!

image

Still embracing our new diet, which we are quite enjoying as both my husband and I are seeing results and the weight is being shed, slowly but surely

We have really focused on our intake of fresh vegetables and protein. He has cut out pretty much all the carbs but yours truly hasn’t been able to do that. I have just reduced the amount! I’m sorry! I can’t live without bread and pasta!

Cous cous has become a great alternative, so that is what we had last night. Whilst I couldn’t resist making my boys a fluffy omelette using the prepared vegetables, which I must admit that I munched on too!

image

It was like making one and getting another dish for free! It worked well in both dishes and I know I will be making this combination again very soon! Hope you enjoy it! Have a tremendous Tuesday! Much love D x

image

INGREDIENTS

300g closed mushrooms sliced
180g fresh baby spinach
1 green bell pepper diced
1 tbsp olive oil
Pinch of dried red chilli flakes
⅓ tsp dried oregano
Paprika tp taste
Salt to taste
1½ cups dried couscous
2½ cups boiling water
½ vegetable stock cube

METHOD

• Prepare the cous cous by bringing to the boil in the vegetable stock, simmer for 5 minutes until the water has evaporated. Take off the heat and set aside. Separate grains with a fork

image

• Heat up the oil with the red chilli flakes, add in the peppers, sauté until tender

image

• Throw in the mushrooms, oregano and salt, combine well. Cook on a medium heat for 5 minutes then stir in the spinach. Let it wilt gently and cover for a few minutes. Take off the cooker and let the residual heat cook the spinach through

image

image

image

• Serve the sauteéd vegetables along with the sauce it has released onto a plate of cous cous

image

The sauteéd mushroom, spinach & pepper omelette

• Beat 3 large eggs till bubbly
• Stir in a dash of milk
• Season with just a little salt
• Add in 2 tablespoons of the spinach mix
• A handful of mature cheddar cheese…combine
• In a hot frying pan with a little olive oil, fry off your omelette, flip when the egg has settled on the first side. Both sides will be golden brown against the yolky yellow of the egg

image
image

image

image

image

23 thoughts on “Sautéed Vegetables Transformed = 2 Vegetarian Dishes!

  1. Mushroom n Spinach – Forever classic combo for me! And perfect spices to go with…. Super duper one! I usually prefer having it on my breakfast plate without couscous… I must try this one too 🙂

Leave a Reply

