Sneaky Mums & Their Recipes!

image

So it’s official! I am like my mum and we are exactly the same!! Both of us were very cheeky and sneaky today in getting our children to eat goodness as they are unwell. One big child, being me and my little ‘un. My mum made me an extremely spiced ginger tomato soup to help my cold and I made chapati flat bread with broccoli and cauliflower to get vegetables into my youngest!

It worked, the soup was so refreshing and allowed me to breathe again properly after days of being blocked up. Whilst my little one munched away on the green chapati not knowing that he was eating lots and lots of vegetable goodness! Worked out for both parties!….

image

INGREDIENTS

1 small broccoli in florets
1 small cauliflower in florets
1 clove garlic minced
½ tsp grated ginger
1 tbsp soft cream cheese
2-3 tbsp sunflower oil
200g chapati flour
1 level tsp salt
1 level tsp garam masala
1 heaped tsp cumin & coriander powder
Flour for rolling
Butter for spreading

METHOD

Boil the cauliflower and broccoli until tender.  In a food processor put the boiled florets with everything except for the flour

image

image

Whizz into a thick paste, will look a bit like a pesto, gradually add the flour to form a soft dough

image

Heat a non stick frying pan on a medium heat

Take about a tablespoon and a half of dough, roll into a ball, dust in some flour and gently roll out into a flat round approximately 6 to 7 cm

Place into the frying pan, wait for a minute or so until it bobbles, turn over and cook until both sides have a few brown spots. Make sure the flatbread is cooked all the way round

Serve with a little melted butter

I’m taking some over to Angie’s Fiesta Friday Party!

image

18 thoughts on “Sneaky Mums & Their Recipes!

  1. Tsk, tsk, ….sneaky, sneaky…. I would never do this to my kids, ever! 😀 Spoken like a mum who blended carrots and yogurt into her meatloaf! Hahah… I did that when my son was young. He still doesn’t like veggies! Luckily my daughter loves them. In fact, better than meats. I didn’t have to do any trickery on her. But I may need to borrow this recipe for my son. Thanks, Dimple! 🙂

  2. Pingback: Fiesta Friday #45 | The Novice Gardener

  3. I love my vegetables, but I wouldn’t object to secretly eating them this way either! I don’t have kids myself, but I know this recipe will definitely come in handy for a lot of parents, any yummy way to get some goodness into the kids’ bellies is a good thing I think!

    Thanks for bringing this along to Fiesta Friday and sharing with us, have a great weekend x

  4. This is a good idea! I’ve been watching Bhavna’s Kitchen on Youtube and she’s tries to do the same thing to pizza’s ect. to get her children to eat more veggies! It’s a great idea and one I had never thought of before… 🙂 I was under the weather myself this past week but am feeling better now, I hope you and your kiddos do too real soon! Enjoy the day.

Leave a Reply

