Spiced Pear & Walnut Muffins

image

A Muffin ~ a type of quick bread that originated in America and portioned for one person. Traditionally eaten for breakfast but these days so very popular especially the sweet variations, with a lovely cup of coffee or tea.

I went back to its roots and thought I would make my version of a breakfast fruit muffin. I used walnuts as they are one of the healthiest nuts available and are an antioxidant. Aswell as proven to lower blood pressure and cholesterol

image

So a perfect choice to start the day and what fruit marries well with walnuts? Pear! A match made in nature!

image

I felt the need to spice the muffins up so I used mixed spice to warm up the soul. I also reduced the sugar and fat content but this hasn’t had any effect on the taste or consistency! This muffin will definitely set you up for the day! I’ve just had one this morning and I’m still going. A great winner all round! Enjoy, much love D x

INGREDIENTS

250g self raising flour
1 tsp baking powder
60g caster sugar
1 tbsp golden syrup
1 tsp mixed spice heaped
200g grated pear
70g walnut chopped
100ml natural yoghurt
2 free range eggs beaten
50g melted butter
50ml-70ml milk

image

METHOD

• Preheat oven to 190°c/375°f/gas mark 5, grease a 12 hole muffin pan

• Mix the flour, baking powder, sugar and mixed spice together. Add the yoghurt, eggs,syrup and milk and stir until combined. Stir in the melted butter

• Fold in the grated pear and chopped walnuts. The batter should be a drop like consistency

image

• Fill the muffin pan and bake for 20-30 minutes until the muffin tops are nice and golden

image

image

image

Walnuts are healthy! a great read 🙂

55 thoughts on “Spiced Pear & Walnut Muffins

    • Thanks Shanna! It worked well and I didn’t want them too sweet. I was a little naughty and spread some peanut butter on one. That tasted gooood. The saltiness from the butter and the sweetness from the pear worked well 🙂

      • That sounds yummy. Almond butter would be nice, too – or a bit of butter and honey, since they are lightly sweetened. On my twitter, it says “Making Muffins, Not War” because I bake so so so so many muffins!!!!! My kids adore muffins.

      • I’ve never had almond butter sounds great. But I have to admit I don’t do honey. I just never got to liking it. I’m sure it would be a nice combination though on the muffin.
        Please share more of your muffin recipes, will be great to see and learn from you 🙂

  1. Darling Dimple, I see 2 or 3 delicious and wonderful posts from you each day.
    You must be in the kitchen all the time… how many people are you feeding?
    Please pass a little of your energy to me, Sweet Lady! 😀 )))

    • Dearest Fae.. thank you ever so much! I cook alot but sometimes don’t even realise I’m posting a few times a day! The enjoyment of blogging is now well and truly a part of me and I just can’t get enough! Thank you always for your kind words of encouragement! I’m sending you lots of buzzing energy honey 🙂 xxxx

  2. Pingback: Jammy | Transplanted Cook

  3. Looks wonderful. We make our share of pear muffins and breads since we have two pear trees. I usually pair them with chocolate or hazelnuts since I don’t care for walnuts.

  4. Looks delicious, I barely bake with pears but this looks like a lovely combo, and I appreciate that you considered that muffins are supposed to be healthy and not a dessert so you made a recipe with less fat and sugar as it should be! Thanks for sharing 🙂

  5. Lovely combination – for some reason I clicked on this post expecting to see a savoury muffin (which I have a weakness for) but I wasn’t disappointed to see a sweet recipe 🙂

  6. There is only one thing I disagree with here: this is not a one a person portion type of muffin. If could get near them they would make a perfect serving for one – moi 😉

Leave a Reply

