A Spicy, Sour, Stalk Salsa..My 500th Post!

image

I steamed some broccoli for dinner yesterday and I was left there standing with a good looking raw broccoli stalk in my hands!  All that came to mind was a fresh tangy salsa.  I had some juicy plum tomatoes to use so this is what came about.

A salty, spicy and sour crunchy salsa to tantalise your tastebuds!  It did mine.  When I gave my husband some to try, he couldn’t figure out that I had used the broccoli stalk.  At first he guessed it was raw mango and then cucumber.  I told him, and he was pleasantly surprised.  So for all you non broccoli lovers out there…try this! You may enjoy it! πŸ˜‰

image

INGREDIENTS

Raw broccoli stalk, diced
Handful of baby plum tomatoes
Fresh lemon juice
Piri piri spice
A pinch of ground cumin powder
Salt to taste

METHOD

Take the diced stalk and place in a bowl.  Add all the ingredients and combine well.  Use the lemon and piri piri spice according to taste. I like mine very lemony and spicy!

Eat immediately or set in the fridge until you’re ready to eat. 

image

30 thoughts on “A Spicy, Sour, Stalk Salsa..My 500th Post!

  1. A small anecdote for you, Dimple ! πŸ™‚
    Yesterday I lunched with my very dear friend, who follows my blog. To my surprise and delight, she made me YOUR recipe for spicy spinach omelette ! – I had no idea that she wandered around within the blog and picked up on things that interested her !
    But here’s the difference: she used silver beet instead of spinach; she used water instead of milk (she’s not keen on milk); and she used chilli flakes instead of chopping up a real one. BUT ! – it was still absolutely DELICIOUS ! She doubled your quantities; but I looked regretfully at my empty plate and wished she had quadrupled them !
    πŸ˜€

Leave a Reply

