My First Indian Rice Pudding

image

Kheer is a creamy saffron and cardamom infused rice pudding. One to be honest I have not really taken to, until now. Having made it for the first time yesterday, I was pleasantly surprised that I quite liked it. That I just made some for my Dad who had popped round to spend some time with me. Now once my little ones wake up from their nap. I am going to introduce it to them, hopefully they will like it from a younger age unlike their Mum who seems to have appreciated it recently.

A very comforting bowl of sweet milky rice. With warm notes of Indian spices…why oh why? Did I not make this earlier? It’s a must try, do give it a go friends and let me know your verdict!

Have a beautiful start to the week, much love, D x

image

INGREDIENTS

600ml full fat milk
3 heaped tbsp long grain rice
5 tsp sugar or to taste
1 to 2 cardamom pods
Pinch of saffron
Crushed pistachio

METHOD

Rinse the rice and soak in some water for 30 minutes

Boil 500ml milk, once brought to a boil. Add the rice and stir

Simmer on a very low heat. Once the rice is half cooked, add the sugar, saffron and crushed cardamom seeds

image

Continue to cook on a low simmer. Pour in the remaining 100ml of milk and stir. Cook until the rice becomes mushy and the milk thick and creamy, stirring occasionally

Serve warm or cold with a crushed pistachio garnish

image

39 thoughts on “My First Indian Rice Pudding

  1. Looks great! Do you think it would work w coconut milk or almond milk to make it vegan? My dad loves rice pudding and I am going to make this for his bday at the end of July! Thank you!

  2. I’m sooo glad you posted this! I’ve had the pleasure of eating this in India and Pakistan.. and in London where we had Indian/Pakistani friends. I love it soo much! I get it every time I eat at our local Indian Restaurant but they’re a bit ‘cheap’ with the pistachios!! I can’t wait to make this – thanks for posting the recipe!!

  3. Looks really good. I am with you Dimple. My mom, now my mother in law have all tried to make me appreciate this great Indian dessert, but it seems their efforts seemed to have been futile. Everyone else loves kheer in my family and it is always prepared on auspicious occassions….hope i learn to appreciate it someday too. Kudos to you!
    You have a great blog here and am glad to have stumbled upon it. 🙂 Following you. 🙂

  4. that looks so yummy and creamy…i love kheer, it looks amazing for a first attempt, i always burn mine and end up using about 5 different pots as i transfer it from the burnt pot to the next!!! Next time you make it add some rose water it really compliments the pistachio and cardamom.

  5. That’s so funny that you finally embraced it. I love kheer. I’ve been making it since college, probably since it’s so sweet and fragrant. Yum. I’m glad you posted this!

Leave a Reply

