Greek Feta Tex Mex Taco’s!

image

The first time I tasted feta cheese was with a dear friend of mine about 12 years ago. I had gone to visit him at university and he treated me to my first Greek Feta lunch.

Tangy, yet mellow thinly sliced soft white slabs of feta, all mixed with a tasty salad and heavenly dressing! I can still remember eating this adorable dish!

It is only until yesterday when I had a bit of the low fat feta cheese that it took me back to this memory buried in my subconscious. I must have had the low fat option the very first time as my palette recalled the taste that I’ve not had since then! I then came across some taco shells and a tin of refried beans in my store room and “Eureka!” Along came the notion of Greek tacos!

image

I’m not going to tell you how good they were as I feel the pictures speak for themselves and I know you will be so tempted to try these! Enjoy! Much love D x

image

INGREDIENTS

1 tin of sweetcorn, naturally sweet
125g low fat feta cheese
15 mini plum tomatoes sliced in rounds
1 red onion finely diced
½ cucumber peeled, finely cubed
Handful of freshly chopped coriander
Salt to taste
Fresh lemon juice

1 tin of refried beans
⅓ tsp smoked paprika
Squeeze of fresh lemon juice

Ready made taco shells

METHOD

• Prepare all the salad ingredients, season with salt and lemon

image

• Crumble or finely cube in the feta cheese and combine well

image

• On a low heat warm up the refried beans, once thet starten to soften into a paste, stir in the paprika and lemon juice

• Crisp up the taco shells by heating them in the oven by instruction and then snap in half. Spread a little of the bean mixture onto the shell and then place the salad on top!

image

image

He just can’t help himself! 🙂

52 thoughts on “Greek Feta Tex Mex Taco’s!

  1. Pingback: Taco Salad Dip | Night Owl Kitchen

  2. This looks delicious Dimple, so colourful and healthy. I have a big love for fusion food, it’s taking the best of both worlds and putting them together into a new dish altogether! Great post! x

Leave a Reply

