Tangy rolls of Khandvi

image

An amazing writer, cook and TV personality, Tarla Dalal. The Indian cooking queen. I have made many of her recipes but recently I had the urge to eat Khandvi…A subtle tangy rolled snack made from (chickpea) gram flour and yoghurt. This particular dish is very special to me as my aunt and I made this together. She had taught me the technique.

However I had forgotten to make a note of the recipe, so I referred to Tarla Dalal’s brilliant recipe. The results were outstanding in terms of flavour. I didn’t take step by step pictures as it was my first attempt. But I know I will use this particular recipe time and time again so knew that all of you would love it too! I’m also bringing some at Angie’s Fiesta Friday Party co hosted by my lovely friend’s Selma & Jhuls…x

INGREDIENTS

1 cup besan (gram flour)
1 cup fresh yoghurt mixed with 1 1/2 cups of water
2 to 3 drops of lemon juice
2 tsp ginger-green chilli paste
1/4 tsp turmeric powder
a pinch of asafoetida
salt to taste
3 1/4 tsp sunflower oil
1 tsp mustard seeds
1/4 tsp asafoetida
5 to 6 curry leaves
1/2 tsp finely chopped green chillies (optional)

For The Garnish
2 tbsp freshly grated coconut
2 tbsp finely chopped coriander

METHOD

Combine the gram flour, yoghurt-water mixture, lemon juice, ginger-green chilli paste, turmeric powder, asafoetida and salt in a deep non-stick pan and mix well to make a smooth batter (taking care that no lump remains)

Cook on a slow flame, while stirring continuously till it becomes thick (approx 8 to 10 minutes)

Grease a clean work top surface or a flat metal plate (approx. 10”) on the reverse side using ¼ tsp of oil and spread a spoonful of the batter on a greased plate or work top and wait for a few seconds and try to roll up. If it doesn’t, then cook for a few more minutes, and check once more till done

Divide the batter into two equal portions. While the batter is still hot, spread each portion evenly using a spatula, on the reverse greased side of 2 thalis evenly to make a thin uniform layer using a spatula (refer step 1)

When cool, cut the khandvi on each thali lengthwise (approx. 1½” in width) into equal portions (as shown in the image) and roll up each gently (refer to step 2 and 3)

For the tempering, just before serving heat the remaining 3 tsp oil in a small non-stick pan and add the mustard seeds.When the seeds crackle, add the asafoetida, curry leaves and green chillies and sauté on a medium flame for a few seconds.Pour the tempering over the khandvis.Serve immediately garnished with coconut and coriander

image

The video link is in Hindi but it will give you an idea of the technique that is needed to make this dish
You Tube Video http://m.youtube.com/watch?v=C_2p-Si0gvU

Original recipe @
http://www.tarladalal.com/Khandvi-(-Gujarati-Recipe)-557r

56 thoughts on “Tangy rolls of Khandvi

  1. Wow! I’ve never heard of this, Dimple! It seems really good and it sounds like this will make a delicious snack. This is so creative of you! It made my mouth-water. 😛 Thank you for bringing this – this will me my first time to try this. You brought enough, right? 😀

    Hope you are having fun at FF15. Have a lovely weekend to you, Dimple! ❤

  2. Wow Dimple – this is such a wonderful dish to bring to the party! I have never really thought about how khandvi is made – the video is very interesting. Thanks so much for joining in lovely Dimple – now where is my plate….xx

  3. I looooove Khandvi Dimple!! I made them first about 3 years ago & they were perfect. My second attempt however went horribly wrong & I havent made them since 😦 I need to try making them again soon. Thanks for the recipe 🙂

Leave a Reply

