My Grandmother And Mother’s Spicy Potato Curry

image

I would sit at the large table with all my siblings and cousins around me when I would see my Nan bring in a large pot.  She would lift the lid and the aroma of cumin, tomatoes and ginger would waft around us.  One very special memory that I will never forget and to make sure I am able to recreate this curry as close as possible to my Nan’s. I bought some new potatoes knowing that my mum was to spend some time with me. 

She too has been taught this wonderful curry that I asked her to teach me.  I now have it to share with you all, so friends you can taste this curry and enjoy it as much as I do!

image

INGREDIENTS

10-12 new potatoes peeled and quartered
100g tomato passata/crushed tomato
1 tbsp sunflower oil
½ tsp cumin seeds
1 tsp grated ginger
Salt to taste
½ tsp red chilli powder

METHOD

• Heat the oil in a small pressure cooker,  throw in the cumin seeds when they start to sizzle

image

image

image

• Pour in the passata,  add the potatoes, ginger and all seasoning and spices

• Stir well,  close the pressure cooker firmly and leave on a low heat

image

• Wait for 2-3 whistles to blow from the cooker and check that the potatoes are cooked through

• It’s as simple as that but sooo good! The potatoes literally melt in the mouth!  Serve with chapatis or naan bread with some natural yoghurt

image

image

36 thoughts on “My Grandmother And Mother’s Spicy Potato Curry

  1. So simple, so flavorful. Love it! I recently spent a day cooking with my yoga instructor (he is from New Dehli) and he showed my how to make the easiest and at the same time surprisingly delicious dishes. This is what I love most about cooking!

  2. This looks so delicious. I love recipes that have been passed down. Simple, yet with tons of flavor….as for the pulao that Darya mentioned, I’ve been trying to make this forever. It’s a huge time commitment, but I really want to do it.

  3. I just had dinner and want to make this right now. Sigh! The vicissitudes of life!

    Enough drama… This is so simple and so delicious. Grandmas and Mothers are such magicians with simple ingredients, aren’t they?

  4. Oh that looks delicious, I don’t own a pressure cooker so would have to tweak the recipe unfortunately. That said, I hope to try a version of your recipe soon, as it really does sound yummy. 😊

  5. Cooking the old family recipes is such a great thing. Not only do you get a comforting dish or meal, but some wonderful memories are brought to mind. And this dish does look delicious, Dimple, and comforting.

Leave a Reply

