Finally Made A Gluten Free Cauliflower Crust Pizza!

image

I have seen cauliflower crust pizzas online so many times and have always been intrigued.  So this week I decided to see what the excitement was about! 

After making it! I see why this new gluten free type of pizza has really taken off. Once again easy to make and a very cheeky sneaky way to get children and adults alike to eat extra vegetables.  Perfect for those who have a gluten free diet!  This was my first attempt so I didn’t go all out on the pizza topping and stuck to the classic Margherita.   Now that it worked well, I shall be experimenting with all sorts of funky toppings!

image

I hope you give this a go!  It’s well worth it!  Have a stunning day!

INGREDIENTS

1 large cauliflower head
1 Free range egg
1 tbsp olive oil
¼ tsp salt
½ cup grated mature cheddar cheese

Tomato pizza sauce

100-150g tomato passata
1 tbsp olive oil
1 clove garlic minced
⅓ tsp dried oregano
salt to taste

Grated Mozzarella or Cheddar cheese

METHOD

• Preheat oven to 200°c, line and grease a large pizza tray

• In a food processor blitz the head of the cauliflower into a grainy paste.  Transfer into a large bowl and microwave on high for 6-8 minutes. 

image

• Wait for the softened and cooked cauliflower to cool a little.  Mix in the egg
Season with the salt and add the cheese.  Combine well

image

• Tip out the cauliflower mixture onto the greased pizza tray and press down firmly to make a large pizza base.  About 1cm in thickness

image

image

• Place in the oven and bake for 15-20 minutes until the base is golden brown

• Once cauliflower base is ready,  spread on thr pizza sauce, throw in the cheese and place back into the oven for a further 10 minutes or until the cheese is melted

image

Gently slice up the pizza and leave to cool a little.  Slowly transfer the slices onto a plate as the base is very soft and crumbly

image

image

image

48 thoughts on “Finally Made A Gluten Free Cauliflower Crust Pizza!

  1. Yum, looks great! I’ve been curious about the cauliflower crust too, and seeing your success makes me think it’s time to give it a go – perhaps sooner, rather than later 🙂

  2. How cool! I’ve seen these all over the place and I think it’s a very neat idea. How would you describe the baked crust? It looks fantastic, Dimple!

    • The crust was soft and like cous cous but finer in texture. It all came together well and there was a taste of cauliflower that hit my palette at the end. First you get the pizza taste due to the tomato and cheese. All in all different from pizza but a great healthy alternatives 🙂

  3. Yours is quite a bit thicker than mine was, maybe I will leave mine a bit thicker next time. I might even try yours, it’s a bit different… 😉 xo

  4. LOL, I should have looked at your better, it’s quite different than mine, I’m going to try it and see which I like better!!! 😉

  5. After your reading you post I really must give this a try as well. I have made “pizza” crust from cooked rice or soaked quinoa, but this is a great variation!

  6. I’ve seen this done before, Dimple, and was very interested. Right now, though, I’m on Naan bread pizza kick. They are so quick to assemble and, after but a few minutes in the oven, pizza is served! Still, this recipe will definitely come in handy when my vegan friends come to pizza night. Thanks!

  7. Pingback: Almond Crust Pizza | Izzy's Lifestyle Blog

Leave a Reply

