White Chocolate & Coconut Cookies

image

Ok, so we are 4 days into the new year and the baking has already begun. On request of my eldest, might I add! who wanted some cookies and I only had a bite! See I’m trying to be good! As I sit here chomping on a chocolate spread sandwich lol!

image

We made them yesterday, especially for some dear family friends of mine. A family that lived a few doors away from me when I was young and where I spent most of my afternoons after school.

I’ve known the not so little ones anymore since they were tiny. I loved to play with the children and if I was sitting in my bedroom doing my homework, they would both be standing on their swings and calling out for me to come over! I see that sweet image so vividly still x

image

It’s no surprise that both my babies have taken to them and love them as much as I do! I’m sure to share more stories, including my aunt’s food which I loved eating and still can remember fondly!

We had my Mexican lime, courgette and pepper risotto for lunch and it went down a treat

image

It’s my time to now call them over to eat with us as my brothers and I were always having dinner round theres!

INGREDIENTS

75g unsalted butter room temperature
65g dark brown muscovado sugar
1 free range egg
120g self raising flour
1 tsp golden/maple syrup
½ tbsp sunflower oil
40g white chocolate buttons or chunks
35g unsweetened desiccated coconut

METHOD

• Preheat the oven to 180°c/350°f. Lightly grease a baking sheet

• Cream butter and sugar together in a mixer for a few minutes on a slow speed

image

• Add in the egg and mix for 2 minutes

image

• Sift flour in and combine until all comes together, stir in the oil and then the syrup

• Fold in the chocolate and coconut

image

image

• Take half tablespoon dollops of the cookie dough and place on the baking sheet. Keep a little distance between the cookie mixture as they will spread once baked

image

• Bake for 10-15 minutes until nice and golden. The cookies will be soft so cool on the baking sheet

image

image

39 thoughts on “White Chocolate & Coconut Cookies

  1. Haha…Dimple, you made me laugh…you sound just like me. I would be chomping on a chocolate spread sandwich while I was trying to avoid eating a cookie too!! Haha!!
    The cookies look divine. I’m printing the recipe as I’m typing this, and I think I might try baking them today. The only difference is, that I have white chocolate chips on hand, and not the lovely big buttons, which I think would be delightful!!
    I love the happy memories that you shared, and look forward to reading about your aunts recipes!! ❤

    • Hi Prudy! Ahh I’m glad I made you laugh lol! I had to have something sweet and couldn’t resist!
      Thanks for your lovely compliments! Chocolate chips will be great too. I just had some chocolate buttons left over from Christmas.
      My aunt makes a wonderful tasty garlic kidney bean curry! I shall have to get the recipe xxxx

  2. Reblogged this on Shivaay Delights and commented:

    Hi friends…Hope you are having a lovely weekend. Today I’ve had a really busy day and my feet haven’t touched the ground. All I’ve been thinking about are these cookies and a nice cup of tea. So I thought you may like some too…I’ll be back tomorrow with my Fab 4 of the week…
    Take care, enjoy! Much love D x

Leave a Reply

