A Broad Bean & Rice Soup

image

“Start as you mean to go on!”, well that is the saying! I’ll try, but I can’t promise to be really healthy all the time. I do intend to make more healthy foods and enjoy them in many different ways, so come explore with me in 2014!

Broadbeans!!! Ummmm not one of my favourite things until very recently! They have always been around me and making an appearance as my Dad just loves them. I used to pick them out from anything my Mum used to make with them in it. My Dad’s plate came in extremely handy and he loved them being passed over to him.

So what’s changed? I really don’t know, maybe my palette has transformed and I’m quite enjoying them now. Strange what taste buds do in our life times!

image

This soup is an interesting combination of luscious healthy greens plus rice that I just adore! Making it a wholesome and vitamin and iron packed dish!
I fancy a bowl again, maybe for lunch?!

Have a tremendous Thursday, much love D x

INGREDIENTS

2 spring onions finely sliced
1 garlic clove crushed
½ tbsp olive oil
⅓ tsp dried oregano
1 cup frozen peas
½ cup frozen broad beans
700ml vegetable stock
¾ cup long grain American rice
2 large handfuls of baby spinach
Salt to taste

METHOD

• In a large saucepan sauté the spring onion and garlic in the olive oil for 2-3 minutes

image

• Throw in the oregano, peas, broadbeans and salt. Mix well and cook for 5-8 minutes until the beans take on a little colour

image

• Pour in the vegetable stock, stir bring to a boil, add the rice then cover and simmer for 10 minutes

image

image

• Lay the baby spinach on top of the soup and let it simmer until it wilts

image

image

• Serve alone or with some crusty bread

image

40 thoughts on “A Broad Bean & Rice Soup

      • Dimple, tried the soup today. Made a few changes though as some ingredients weren’t available in the said form: used fresh broad beans instead of dried ones and whole spinach instead of baby. But the soup turned out amazing. My li’l one enjoyed one whole bowl. And I felt as I was eating some fresh and healthy in a long long time.

      • Hi Anshu, I’m so happy you enjoyed it and more importantly your little one! Fantastic! Fresh beans I’m sure taste even better than frozen! It’s my soup of choice at the minute. Please if you still have some do email me a picture so I can post it up on my Facebook Shivaay Delights page. Thank you for making it x

      • Oops, never thought of clicking a picture. And to tell you the truth, I had made a lot so that I could have some for lunch today but no left-overs. I will again try it in a few days as fresh beans are available in this season. Will surely send you a pic then. 🙂

  1. This looks absolutely delicious Dimple! This is the perfect soup for a day like today.. I actually had to look broad beans up. I’ve never heard of them before… at least called broad beans. I can’t say that I’ve ever had them, but reading this recipe, I’m on board to try!! Yum!!

    • Thank you Prudy x definitely lovely to cheer us up. I think the colour does that all by itself! Wow broad beans are really big here in the UK. I sometimes forget that places around the world have other varieties. I expect that everyone may have had some lol. The world is a big and wonderful place x

Leave a Reply

