Mini Mature Cheddar & Cayenne Scones

image

I love cheese and I love chilli! I’m always craving that combination! So I thought as it goes extremely well together, that I can make up a recipe for these two ingredients as a traditional savoury scone.

I made mini scones so didn’t feel guilty having one! You get the strong taste of the mature cheddar with a delicate hint of chilli which hits your taste buds right at the end. They nicely spiced up my palette after all the yummy sweetness I enjoyed over Christmas! Hope you enjoy them!

INGREDIENTS

200 g self raising flour
50g butter
60 g mature cheese
150 ml milk
Pinch of salt
1/2 tsp cayenne pepper
A little milk to brush the scones

image

METHOD

• Pre heat oven 220c/425f/gas mark 7
Mix flour,pepper and salt. Rub in the butter

• Add cheese and bind with milk to form a soft dough

• Lightly flour a surface and knead the dough a little and then pat dough to 1.5 cm thickness. Use a mini cutter and cut out scone rounds

• Grease a baking sheet on a tray. Place the scones on that tray and brush with milk

• Place in oven for 12-15 minutes until nice and golden orangey brown.

• Cut in half and butter. Best served when warm

59 thoughts on “Mini Mature Cheddar & Cayenne Scones

  1. It’s been way too long since I’ve made scones. Love the combo of the cheese and the chili… did you sprinkle bacon on the top of yours in the photo? I got excited but couldn’t see it in the ingredients. Delicious nonetheless, definitely going to try these x

Leave a Reply

