Gooey Chocolate Meringues & Glitter Manicure!

image

I’ve never attempted meringues but had some left over egg whites so I couldn’t resist! I wanted them to remain sticky and gooey! Which I think I have achieved! Yay!

In my recipe I have lessened the amount of sugar as it is replaced with some sweetness from the milk chocolate!

image

The cocoa gives it a sense of maltiness when combined with the cooked egg whites! A real sweet treat to end your meal on a sugaring high!

For my first attempt they were lovely in texture and flavour! Though I feel I need to shape them better next time. More varieties will make an appearance I’m sure!

image

INGREDIENTS

90-100g caster sugar
5 medium egg whites
pinch of salt
50mg grated milk chocolate
½ tbsp cocoa powder

METHOD

• Preheat oven to 140 degrees celsius and line two baking trays with greaseproof paper

• Whisk egg whites in a large mixing bowl either with an electric whisk or by hand
until the egg whites turn into stiff peaks

• Slowly add the sugar a tablespoon at a time and whisk gently

• Fold in the cocoa powder and grated chocolate

• Using a metal spoon dollop to a rough round on to the baking tray. Working quickly as not to lose the air that has been built up in the meringue mixture

image

• Bake for 30 to 40 minutes, the outside shell will be crisp. Turn off the oven and leave them in the oven with it ajar to cool

image

image

I woke up really really early this morning and decided to do my weekly manicure. I had to add glitter because of the christmas feel and seeing golden baubles everywhere! So now my nails are sporting the festive look!

image

image

26 thoughts on “Gooey Chocolate Meringues & Glitter Manicure!

  1. They look good Dimple. But next time you could put them in a piping bag with a round nozzle and pipe little kisses. They must have tasted yummy! I just can’t make all that living where I do. R

  2. I love finding simple fun recipes that I can try with my little brother. We’re definitely making these tomorrow. Cute nails – I’m going to try that too 🙂

Leave a Reply

