Inspired Tabouleh

image

I finally got my hands on some Quinoa and am so happy to have made it this year. As The Food and Agricultural Organisation of the United Nations (FAO) has officially declared that the year 2013 be recognised as “The International Year of the Quinoa.”

image

I also had to make it after seeing Sylvia @ Superfoodista version of Faes @ Twist and Tango tabouleh. Both these fellow gorgeous foodie bloggers inspire me everyday! And I just love their recipes!

I didn’t have mint or parsley so used fresh coriander in its place. I must say it worked splendidly! Gave the tabouleh more of an Indian feel. My husband and I have liked this so much that we’ve now had it two days in a row!

image

INGREDIENTS

50g Quinoa
200ml boiling water
3 spring onions chopped finely
1 tomato finely chopped
Handful of fresh coriander chopped
Fresh lemon to taste
1 tbsp olive oil
Pinch of chilli powder
Salt to taste
Pinch of sugar

METHOD

• Bring the quinoa to a boil in a small saucepan, then lower to a simmer and cover, cook for 15-18 minutes until tender

• Once cooked drain the quinoa and leave aside

• Combine the rest of the salad and seasoning together with the oil and lemon juice. Mix well and then add the quinoa

image

• Leave for 30 minutes to marinate and serve with some pitta bread or in our case we had some whole grain crispbread with golden bits of shallow fried halloumi cheese

image

image

Fae’s wonderful original tabouleh recipe
Superfoodista’s super healthy tabouleh recipe

30 thoughts on “Inspired Tabouleh

  1. Hi Dimple, wow, this looks fabulous!!! I am so happy you enjoyed the quinoa! 😉 And adding cilantro is just fantastic – I love cilantro so much! I usually add it when I make a quinoa salad, with some lime – so good. And I love how you added the haloumi cheese (another delicious thing!) and arranged them on the crisp bread. Would love to eat this right now! 😉 Sylvia

    • Thank you Sylvia, well it was your quinoa tabouleh inspiration. Lime and cilantro sounds really good. I will be trying that soon. I topped it off with the halloumi as I had some left over lol! Can’t wait for your next post x

    • Thank you Fae! Halloumi is an
      unripened brined cheese made from a mixture of goat’s and sheep’s milk, and sometimes also cow’s milk. It has a high melting point and so can easily be fried or grilled.

      4th photo taken off xxxx

Leave a Reply

