Magical Spaghetti Pomodoro

image

This spaghetti dish is truly MAGICAL!!! You put in all the gorgeous ingredients into one pot and in 15 minutes you will uncover a cooked dish ready to eat!

Such a rustic looking recipe which allows for the spaghetti to be cooked in its own starchy silky sauce. You will find that all the flavours are absorbed into the spaghetti and are more intense as it all fuses together in this abra-cadabra pot!

I made this on Sunday when my brother and family came round for an early supper. I went into the kitchen, prepped the ingredients, did my magic and casually kept returning to see my work in progress…I love this recipe as you can spend more time with your loved ones whilst the supper is happening on its own!

image

A real winner for us that evening, combined with some soft tear and share garlic bread courtesy of my brother as soon as he found out we were having pasta!
Thanks Bro and family, we thoroughly had a nice time and it was sooo good to catch up!

INGREDIENTS

400g dried spaghetti
1 medium onion sliced into crescents
3 garlic cloves sliced
1 tin chopped tomatoes
1½ tsp dried oregano
vegetable stock at least 800ml
1 green chilli chopped (optional)
½ tsp paprika
Salt to taste
1½ tbsp olive oil
10-14 fresh basil leaves chopped

METHOD

• Put all the ingredients apart from the basil in a large non stick saucepan and cover with the vegetable stock

image

• The stock should soak all the ingredients, bring everything to a boil and then reduce to a low simmer and cover. Cook for 10-15 minutes stirring occasionally to avoid sticking

• You will find that the stock will be absorbed quite quickly so add to the pot to help the cooking process. Do check seasoning as this will alter with the extra stock

image

• Once the spaghetti is al dente (firm to the bite) it is ready, Throw in the basil so that it will permeate with the sauce

• Serve with some grated Parmesan and in my case a mature Cheddar!

image

29 thoughts on “Magical Spaghetti Pomodoro

  1. A one pot pasta dish! This is the first time I get to see dried pasta boiled along with the sauce… this will make life so simple.. I am going to try this next time I make pasta. Is vegetable stock imperative or water would do? I never have stock.

  2. Dimple, I made this for dinner tonight! Followed everything as is, except: no green chilli or fresh basil leaves (didn’t have it). I used 300 grams fresh cherry tomatoes and chicken broth. By the time pasta was al dente, onion, garlic and tomatoes were completely melted and absorbed by the pasta. I lowered heat to the lowest and let it steam for 30 min. I even got some yummy crust. Absolutely delicious meal! Thank you for sharing. xoxo 😛

  3. Tonights dinner. I’ve been wondering what to make that would be quick and filling. Thank you for following me, and also for bringing me this wonderful new recipe.

  4. Pingback: Wordless Wednesday | Shivaay Delights

Leave a Reply

