Feel spicy at lunchtime!

image

Baked beans…a very English ingredient! I can’t do without them and find it difficult when we go on holidays for a long stretch of time where they are not available!

When I was 12, we went on a school trip away to the English countryside for a week and I thoroughly remember the breakfast I chose every day! Yes you guessed it! Hot beans on toast smothered in lashings of butter! Yummmmmy!

However these days you can get the humble baked beans in many flavoured sauces such as chilli, barbecue, garlic and the list goes on. So I thought I would share my current spicy version that I am addicted to!

Many will “masalafy” them as does my mum when she makes a curry out of the baked beans, which I will share later. I just wanted heat and spicy baked beans to get the endorphins flowing. Great to perk you up at lunch time if you’ve had a stressful morning! Watch out! you may get hooked!!!

image

INGREDIENTS

1 tin baked beans
1 hot green chilli
2 spring onions finely sliced
⅓ tsp paprika
⅓ tsp cumin powder
¼ tsp dried red chilli flakes
squeeze of fresh lemon juice
½ tbsp sunflower oil

METHOD

• Heat the oil in a non stick saucepan, add in the chilli, spring onions and chilli flakes. Let oil infuse with these ingredients for a few minutes on a low heat

• Stir in the baked beans, paprika and cumin powder. Simmer on a low heat for a further 5-7 minutes. Finish off with a little lemon juice

• Serve on some potato waffles or on toasty buttered bread!

image

12 thoughts on “Feel spicy at lunchtime!

Leave a Reply

