Garlic buttered paratha

image

In every Indian restaurant you will find the garlic naan, which is lovely for a heavy meal but if you fancy something light then I’ve come up with these garlic buttered paratha.

I adore garlic bread so I applied the same principle to this recipe. However instead of just smothering the paratha in garlic butter which I did, I also penetrated the paratha with the garlic butter from the inside for ultimate flavour!

image

As I was making them..they kept disappearing! My little ones were munching on them with the kidney bean masala I had made. I was lucky to get a couple myself! So definitely a hit with children who like their tasty food!

INGREDIENTS

250g white chapatti flour
100g plain flour
3 tbsp sunflower oil
Boiling water to bind
2 tbsp butter/low fat butter spread
2-3 cloves of garlic crushed
Plain flour for rolling
Sunflower oil for pan frying

METHOD

To make the garlic melted butter ~

• Throw in the crushed garlic and butter together in a small saucepan and melt on a low heat. Let the butter bubble slowly for a few minutes until the garlic is soft and infused into the butter

image

To make the parathas ~

• In a large mixing bowl add the chapatti flour and plain flour. Stir in the oil so that the flour resembles bread crumbs

• Pour in some boiling water a little at a time and combine with a spoon until you can handle it with your fingers. Bring the dough together and knead for 5 minutes

image

• Preheat a non stick frying pan on a medium heat. Flour a clean surface, take about a palm full of dough, roll it out into a 5-6cm diameter round

image

• Using a spoon spread some of the melted garlic butter on the round, sprinkle a little flour. Fold up bringing all the corners in

image

• Dust in some flour again and roll out gently into an 8cm diameter round or approximate

• Place the uncooked paratha into the frying pan, wait for it to bubble and raise and then flip over using a spatula

image

• Use a little oil on the second side whilst cooking and again on the third turn until both sides are cooked nice and golden brown

image

image

• Spoon a little of the garlic butter onto the cooked paratha, to give it more of an intense flavour

image

• Repeat with the whole dough, in exactly the same way

34 thoughts on “Garlic buttered paratha

  1. OH. MY. GOSH. Full-discloure – warm, buttery garlic naan is one of my ALL TIME favorite foods. This looks amazing! And so healthy, warm and doughy. Pure goodness. Tell me, where can one find the white chapatti flour to make this bread? I bet it would also be great with clarified butter, beurre noisette noisette or ghee… LOVELY recipe.

      • Why is ghee not healthy? I am sure that in small amounts it is just fine… especially as a finish. A great way to keep food healthy and flavorful is to use a small bit of butter or oil at the very end as a finish – so the flavor comes out. Ghee is marvelous and has a high burning point, so it is great for browning fish, meat, etc. 🙂 I will look up chipatti flour – maybe it is available on-line. There are few Indians in New Mexico, but many where I grew up… the Indian Markets here are nonexistent. Very sad to me – in university, I learned to cook basic Indian dishes from my roommates.

        Loookksss sooo good! YUM.

      • That is true! I guess I’ve just stayed away from it might get hooked using it lol! I like the tip about using butter at the end Thanks! Oh you must share what you learnt from your roommates! Will be lovely to see 🙂

      • Finishing with a little flavor is a great way to taste the fat – but not use too much of it. 🙂

        The Indian foods learned to make in college are so delicious to me, but I worry that they are not authentic or well-executed when I prepare them – Indian cooking is so precise and takes skill. I am a novice! I did enjoy learning though. One friend, Shravanthi, taught me to a make a few dishes that sustained me during university!

      • No not at all. I believe that anyone can cook all types of food. Look at me I try other cuisines. I guess even if it’s not perfect we are still making it authentic enough for our tastebuds.
        Lovely of Shravanthi to teach you 🙂

  2. Yum! I love paratha. I always get it pre-made because I had no idea how to do it. Thanks for breaking it down so well. I’m sure they have chapatti flour at the Indian market.

  3. These look so perfect Dimple. I’ve really started to love making Indian breads at home… I always used to think they were ridiculously difficult to get right, but it’s nice to know that a (non-Indian) home cook can master the recipes with a bit of practice. Love the fact that you’ve put garlic butter inside the bread as well as drizzled it over. Yum!! These photos are completely drool-worthy xx

  4. I want to make these, my boys love garlic bread of any kind and I bought the smallest bag of chapatti flour that my local Indian shop had available last weekend and now have 5kgs to experiment with!!!!!

Leave a Reply

